Skip to content

#funrun? #whome?

Happy Shamrocks and Shenanigans 5K Race Day!  What a FUN day to run!

If these two girls aren't going to have fun during this run, I don't know who IS going to have fun!

If these two girls aren’t going to have fun during this run, I don’t know who IS going to have fun!

Here stood Christy and I at about 9:20 a.m. today-just before taking off for Ann Arbor’s annual Shamrocks and Shenanigans 5K run (sponsored jointly by my favorite running store-Running Fit- and my favorite Irish pub in town-Conor O’Neils).

This, we agreed, was going to be a FUN run for both of us!

Yesterday, we ran a 10 mile training run.  And while it was exhilarating because we both beat our goal pace of 9:20 handily; it was exhausting!

It was an out and back and an up and down-5 miles out and up, 5 miles back and down.

I run a portion of this route about twice a week, so I knew exactly where each mile was and what the terrain was like.  I tried to plan accordingly, and for the most part I did.  But at mile 9 I hit the wall and the last mile was b.r.u.t.a.l.

At mile 10, I stopped immediately and bent over with my hands on knees for support and looked at my watch;my heart and the rest of my body was filled with happiness on two accounts: 1) Finished! 2) NAILED IT!

Despite a couple of pace times that were slower than the overall pace time goal; I am psyched about these pace times!

Despite a couple of pace times that were slower than the overall pace time goal; I am psyched about this training run!

As Christy headed to her car and I stumbled up my porch steps I said, “Tomorrrow’s 5K Shamrock run is going to be a fun run for me.  After these 10 miles, I mean, I’m not even going to wear a timing device.”

That is hilarious.  No timing device? ROTFLMAO!!

I really did want it to be a fun run (Note to reader: Fun run to Kristi means “doesn’t care about time.” I know.  The very notion is a contradiction of who I am as a person), because it is a fun run.  It is a great community event that gets a ton of support, you get to dress up in fun outfits, and beer is the hydrating beverage of choice at the end of the run.  Besides, my calves and hammies were sooooooooooooo tight I figured there was no way I was going to pull off any kind of a sweet time-so it might as well be FUN!

Fast forward to this morning and me getting dressed:  The GPS is sitting right there and even though I’m not going to worry about my pace I will want to know my overall time.  Plus…it’s green.  Works with the costume.

We leisurely head up to Main Street with my friend Sharon Stachecki (Who is an awesome runner and took 3rd in her age group today!!!!) and the line is long and so we just kind of amble towards the back and head in where there’s space because “It’s just a fun right.  Right?” Insert laughter.

Mile 1: 9:22.

Oh hell no!  That was 8 seconds slower than yesterday’s 10 mile pace.

What are you going to do though, right? It’s fun. Right? Besides, the next 1/2 mile is basically all up hill (and I’m good with hills so now that I’ve passed a lot of people I’ll pick up some time).

Mile 2: 8:55.

Better!  Especially since a good chunk of that was up hill.

Mile 3: 8:03.

Now we’re cooking with Crisco!

.1 of a mile left.  So I started kicking, especially because there was one last hill to conquer!!!

I reach the top and this mom comes closer to the course and says to her daughter, “Come on honey!  It’s right up there.  You can do it!  You look great!”

I’m not proud of this, but because this girl was several age groups below me, I really didn’t want to lose to her.  So I turned it on and started to sprint.  And so did she.  And in the split second I realized I couldn’t keep up, I realized she wanted to beat me more than I wanted to beat her. So I said,”Way to go, girl.  You look great! Finish strong.”

Congratulations to 13-year-old Holly Warolin of Jackson, Michigan!!!  With a chip time of 27:04, she beat me by 8 seconds and took 8th out of 47th in her age group.

Afterwards Sharon said to me, “I saw how you let that young girl pass you at the end.”  I said, “It wasn’t really my choosing.” And Sharon said, “But I heard you cheer her on.”

Cheer her on?  Of course I did.  It was a FUN run!

Carry on friends, carry on!

Me and Team Absolute Title (Erin, Christy and Chris). Today is the one-year anniversary of Erin running her first race!

Me and Team Absolute Title (Erin, Christy and Chris). Today is the one-year anniversary of Erin running her first race! Congrats Erin! 

When in Rome? Hell yes when in Rome.  Or better yet...when in an Irish Pub consume at least 2 pints of beer along with some button mushrooms and potato skins! The addition here is Stephan-a former Absoluter!

When in Rome? Hell yes when in Rome. Or better yet…when in an Irish Pub consume at least 2 pints of beer along with some button mushrooms and potato skins! The addition here is Stephan-a former Absoluter! A FUN group to hang with after a FUN run!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

