Skip to content

Bayshore 1/2 Marathon #allaboutChristy

Damn, I feel like the blood doping I engaged in this morning didn’t help my energy and endurance levels during spinning class as much as I would have hoped……

Well, if you haven’t guessed by now, I’m training for the Bayshore 1/2 Marathon to be held in Traverse City, Michigan, on Saturday, May 25.

I’ve run this race twice: once by myself and once with my husband.

This time around, of course, I’m running it with Christy P.

And I am thrilled!

Last year seemed to be a lot about me and my running goals. This go around….#it’sallaboutChristy!

Christy has a goal time of sub 2:00:00.

What’s my goal? To help Christy snag that goal!!!

I work hard at my running, and I love the results; but I think I prefer the role of coach/supporter/motivator to that of runner. I think I’m better at it.

People have told me that my running and blogging has helped inspire them, and  I LOVE THAT!  But NOT for the ego-induced reason you might think. I just love the idea that everything I’m doing to reach my goals, is helping others to reach theirs.

There isn’t much training/coaching involved with Christy.  She knows what she wants to do and she does it.  But sometimes watching someone else deal with all the emotional drama and baggage that comes along with a rigorous training schedule and helping them work through it is where the real coaching comes in.

During the Detroit Free Press Marathon this past fall, Christy helped me snag a PR! She ran the first 13.1 miles with me and kept me on pace-she didn’t let me run slower, she didn’t let me run faster.  We had a game plan of what the pace was supposed to be and we stuck to it.  That, in and of itself, was the most important support and training I received from anyone during the months of February through October last year.  The training, while we did it together, I could have done on my own (I probably wouldn’t have, but I could have). But the pacing she helped me with, that was invaluable!

And all I want to do is return the favor in 126 days!  And I will work my butt off to make sure that happens!!

Day 1 of 126. With temps hovering at 9 degrees, you have to even bundle up for the car ride home.

Day 1 of 126. With temps hovering at 9 degrees, you have to even bundle up for the car ride home from the YMCA.

So, speaking of the Detroit Free Press Marathon…

At the starting line.  Getting ready to hopefully redeem myself. Wearing the AA Marathon Shirt in the hopes of dumping its bad karma.

At the starting line. Getting ready to hopefully redeem myself. Wearing the AA Marathon shirt in the hopes of dumping its bad karma.

Last photo of the two of us before parting ways.  BTW..it was a beautiful fall day!  Temps in the 40s. Perfect running weather!

Last photo of the two of us before parting ways. BTW..it was a beautiful fall day! Temps in the 40s. Perfect running weather!

Flash forward to mile 19 or so.  Just about to hop onto Belle Isle, or as I like to call it, "my wall." Nice facial expression.  You'll see the same thing about mile 26.1.

Flash forward to mile 19 or so. Just about to hop onto Belle Isle, or as I like to call it, “my wall.” Nice facial expression. You’ll see the same thing about mile 26.1.

They say in life that everything is relative and perception is reality.  Well, this incline was relatively horrible as my reality was I was climbing Mt. Everst.

They say in life that everything is relative and perception is reality. Well, this incline was relatively horrible as my reality was I was climbing Mt. Everest.

There's that look of triumph, eh? Same expression as at mile 19+, although I think I am leaning considerably more to the left at this moment.  Next stop-finish line.  Next stop after that-medical tent.

There’s that look of triumph, eh? Same expression as at mile 19+, although I think I am leaning considerably more to the left at this moment. Next stop-finish line. Next stop after that-medical tent.

PR Snagged!  4:17:15! An improvement of over 10 minutes from my last marathon time.

PR Snagged! 4:17:15! An improvement of over 10 minutes from my best marathon time.

The past 328 days of my life have been a helluva a “marathon training, injury surviving, ego-soothing, friendship growing, deep down digging, emotionally recovering, constantly questioning” kind of experience. But I’m ready to close the book on that chapter of my life.  It’s time to move on. It’s not about me. #it’sallaboutChristy (Which on one level she will probably love and appreciate and on another level she will probably hate. Oh well, I’ll navigate that too.)

And in closing……I thought I’d take a moment to say that while running can teach us incredibly important life lessons about ourselves, there are a lot more important things in life than running.

Martin Luther King, Jr. American Hero

Martin Luther King, Jr.
American Hero

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”

“If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.”

“A right delayed is a right denied.”

“Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.”

“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.”

Carry on, friends. Carry on.

 

 

 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Well thank you for your very kind words. You did all of the work to earn your new Marathon PR! I was merely there cheering you on. I’m looking forward to the next 18 weeks – I have that excited feeling again. Whoo Hooo!!! #sub2@bayshore

    January 21, 2013

Leave a Reply

