Skip to content

Detroit Marathon 2012 #what’sgoingon?

What’s going on?

Not a lot of blogging that’s for sure!  And not as much training as has been prescribed, but I’m totally o.k. with that!

Below is a list of my training workouts for the last 2 1/2 weeks, with accompanying emoticons so you know how I felt about them:

18 days, but only 12 workouts!

The emoticon with the question mark is to symbolize the confusion I experienced both during the track workout and after the track workout surrounding my inability to understand what was happening with my GPS device. I know I ran the whole thing, but somehow, when I got home and uploaded the info to my computer, I had lost track of a lap.  But, to my credit, it was a confusing workout: 1200, 1000, 800, 600, 400. I just need someone to tell me where to start and where to stop and where to start up again.  Yes, I’m that high maintenance. 

The emoticon with the heart and wings, which really isn’t an emoticon at all, indicates the day that I realized I have experienced the exact same feelings over the course of my 21-year running career, that I have while falling in and out of love. In case you missed it, and it seems like something you can’t live without (kind of like love and air), you can check it out here at Detroit Marathon 2012 #letsfallinlove.

Here I am on the day of the “let’s fall in love” tempo run. Sadly, my arm is not around my running buddy, Christy P, who I have also come to love. Her absence is indicated by the presence of air between me and my outstretched arm. So sad.

The emoticon with the tongue sticking out indicates the rather overwhelming fatigue I experienced during both of those runs.  The first run was supposed to be a 14-mile run and although I was having a GREAT time with my Anam Cara, Anne Haruki, running around beautiful Spring Lake outside of Grand Haven, Michigan, while she biked and kept me company, I ran out of gas at mile 12.  I was just exhausted.  And because work had been crazy that week, and because I was on vacation, and because I could….I just stopped at 12.  Pace time for the 14 was supposed to be 10:44, and I pulled a 10:50 pace-which included a few stops!  I think I am finally getting this “not running too fast in the heat” business.

Me and Annie. 7:00 am. 74 degrees. We met at Michigan State University in the fall of 1987. This fall marks 25 glorious years of friendship! I’m really, really lucky!

Sunrise at the top of the bridge between Grand Haven and Spring Lake. Views to which I am not normally exposed in Ann Arbor.

The second long run was 16 miles and it was last Sunday.  It was the first time Christy and I had worked out together in 10 days!  (Side note:  The six days for which I indicated my workout was “nothing” was because, in fact, I did NOTHING on those days.  Christy was on vacation, work was hell again, I was tired, and I figured:  1) A week off of training wouldn’t kill me and 2) I deserved a week off of training).

It was in fact another warm day and thank goodness for a great deal of cloud cover.  We took plenty of water and fuel, and we always have places on our runs were we can stop and get additional fuel, but I just really struggled. My goal pace time of 10:44 was an actual pace time of 11:11, but again, that includes some stops and walking, a lot of walking actually.  And honestly, like the 12/14 mile run a few weeks ago, I would have stopped early if I wasn’t with Christy.  When I mentioned that to her she said, “That’s why we run together.”  Man, I love that girl!  And oddly enough, despite my struggle, I would NOT describe it as a bad run, but a hard run.  Do you know what I mean?

I’m getting to a point where I’m not freaking out about my times any longer, which is a HUGE deal for me.  I mean, the entire country is experiencing the worst drought in 50 years.  When I ran on Tuesday morning at 5:30 a.m., it was already 78 degrees!  There are things that are beyond my control and the temperature is one of them and I realize that everyone is having to manage/deal with the same training conditions.  So while a run can be hard due to heat and exhaustion and struggling, it doesn’t mean that it’s bad.

And finally….the smiley face emoticon is indicative of a good workout!  One in which I was happy, felt good, hit some goals, had some wonderful company, learned somethings about myself, got a big belly laugh at the expense of someone else, or did NOTHING !!!!

Happy Emoticon-Me on an 18-mile bike ride in Grand Haven, Michigan. I figured the end of the path, literally, was a pretty good place to turn around.

Happy Emoticon-Me and Doug heading to the YMCA for our first experience doing a swim workout together!

Happy Emoticon-Beautiful sunrise sky at the UM track for this past Tuesday’s speed workout. PLUS…we saw a rainbow!  It was my second rainbow during a run.  The last time was a 14-mile run in March!

Happy Emoticon-Shut the front door! Legs came out to run with us. It’s been over a month!

And today’s workout (which was supposed to be a spinning class at 7:00 a.m. this morning but got postponed for one reason and one reason only: a bottle of Black Star Farms Arcturos Late Harvest Riesling consumed by yours truly the night before) has turned into a “fun run” for me after work this evening.  Where I get into my clothes, head out the door, turn up my iPod, and just run for fun.  A run where I don’t care about my time (well sort of ) and sing out loud to the songs I love, and remember why I started this crazy running thing 21 year ago in the first place.  While I can’t exactly predict the future, I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a “Happy Face Emoticon” kind of experience.

Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beth simmons #

    You continue to inspire me!

    July 27, 2012
    • Beth, I’m glad I am stil inspiring you! I am not feeling to inspired myself these days. I seem to get my greatest motivation knowing that I’m helping out others! Especially someone like you-an awesome softball and field hockey player who was always so good and had the bet attitude and great leadership skills!

      July 29, 2012
  2. danlynnemixer@charter.net #

    I am so happy that most of the time in your life you are having fun. fun is soooo good

    July 29, 2012
    • Lynne: It is by watching and following in the footsteps of people like yourself that make me strive to have fun in life!

      July 29, 2012
  3. Great web site. Lots of helpful information here. I am sending it to a few buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you for your effort!

    March 5, 2013
    • Thanks for the comment! My main objective has always really been to just document my story and hope something I’ve learned can help others! Cheers, KG

      March 10, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Detroit 2012 #happenings | Rise. Run. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

