Skip to content

Detroit Marathon 2012 #letsfallinlove

As I headed west on Plymouth Road on my last tempo run, armed with my iPod to serve as a distraction from the fact that I was running alone, I was treated to the lovely, lovely voice of Miss Ella Fitzgerald singing, “Let’s Fall in Love.”

Let’s fall in love
Why shouldn’t we fall in love?
Our hearts are made of it
Let’s take a chance
Why be afraid of it

And as my face broke into a huge smile, as it always does when I hear beautiful music that makes my heart happy, I realized that for the past 21 years I have been having a love affair with running.  Why didn’t I see it until now?  The signs were there all along.  Every emotion I have ever had while falling in love, being in love, falling out of love, etc…..I’ve experienced as a runner.  See for yourself:

OK, I guess I haven’t experienced EVERY emotion in running that I have while being in love. And no doubt there are a whole host of others that I haven’t mentioned, but would definitely qualify.

But what I think is the most important emotional similarity between being in love and running is that when I’m really, truly, madly, deeply in love (like I am more so than ever with my husband after being with him for almost 28 years) is the desire to be a better person.  I’m a better person because of the love I have received from my husband and the strength he gives me, among other reasons.  And I’m a better person for being a runner because of the strength and confidence it gives me to try new things, to go outside of my comfort zone, to gain a little perspective, to share my experiences with others, and to support others in their endeavors-running or otherwise, among other reasons.

And so, I suppose, like any good romantic, those emotions I experience as a runner, are what gets me out of bed almost every day before 5 a.m. to train for my second marathon in five months after an exhausting, disappointing, exhilarating, overwhelming, beautiful, and ugly marathon just 37 days ago.

I am.
I love.
I run.
I can’t help it.

Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

Oh, yeah, I also love this guy a whole helluva lot too!

Doug getting a big fat kiss from me because he probably just did something totally wonderful!

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Christy Perros #

    Awesome and incredibly beautiful post! I love your enthusiasm. I love being your training partner. I love being your friend. I’m ready to love running again.

    July 23, 2012
    • Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! It is amazing how much love and hate can go into the same experience. I hope you are starting to love running again. I’m in that part of my love affair with running where I know I love it, but I’m feeling a little bit ambivalent. Meh. xo

      July 27, 2012
  2. Love this. Great stuff. yes, every emotion is intensified by heating up your core with a run.

    July 23, 2012
    • Mark, glad you like it. It’s amazing the stuff that comes to us when we run, right? I was running along and her Ella sing those words and all of a sudden I thought, “I’m so in love with this.” This crazy maddening thing called running! I hope your running is going great!

      July 27, 2012
  3. danlynnemixer@charter.net #

    I Love running too even though I can’t run as fast or as long as the old days, but there is still something very special between me and the run. I think the run is in love with me too because Run makes me very happy sometimes

    July 23, 2012
    • Lynne, the run loves you because you have spent your whole live spreading the gospel about the love of the run. You are a disciple in the church of “I love to run and running love me and you should run too” xoxo

      July 27, 2012
  4. Might I just say that after finding Detroit Marathon 2012 #letsfallinlove | Rise.
    Run. Repeat. on Redaxscript, what a relief to find somebody who ultimately knows what they’re writing about when it comes to this. You certainly grasp how to bring a problem to light and make it significant. A lot more people have got to look at this and understand this perspective. I can’t believe you’re not more widespread, as you most certainly possess the gift.

    May 20, 2013
    • Thanks so much for the very complimentary post! It is what is going to get me back to blogging. I just finished the last race I’ve been training for and now it’s on to some fun and trying out some new things. Stay tuned! Cheers, KG

      May 28, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Detroit Marathon 2012 #what’sgoingon? | Rise. Run. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

