Skip to content

Detroit Marathon 2012 #heatrunning, #reversetri, #longcoolrun

Heat Running
This past Friday was Tempo Friday, due to Thursday’s a.m. onslaught of severe thunderstorms and wind!  Goal paces on Friday were 10:19 warm up, 5 miles at 9:44, cool down mile of 10:19.  Here’s what it actually looked like:

  • Mile 1-10:18,
  • Mile 2-9:36
  • Mile 3-9:56
  • Mile 4-9:52
  • Mile 5-10:40
  • Mile 6-10:52
  • Mile 7-10:56

When we started at 5:30 a.m. it was 70 degrees with 95% humidity.  Ironically, two days before we were discussing how hard we thought it was going to be to run slowly, in particular on our long runs.  I don’t think we would have thought that a 9:44 pace for 5 consecutive miles would have been problematic.  Then again, we appear to still be in heat denial and how it affects our running.

So Christy did some research, as Christy is prone to do, and found out on Jeff Galloway’s website http://www.jeffgalloway.com (Galloway is a runner, trainer, author, etc.), “Adjust for heat and humidity: slow down by 30 sec a mile for every 5 degree temperature increase above 60F.”  Which means….our 10:19 warm up pace should have been an 11:19 pace (hit it!), our 9:44 times should have been 10:44 (hit all but 1!), and our cool down should have been 11:19 (hit it!).

Now, the great thing about this is NOT that we hit our times, when handicapped for heat, but actually, truly, honestly coming around to understanding that heat really affects your pace time-NO MATTER WHAT!

Internal conversation with myself:

  • Kristi, “Gee.  I’m so relieved to know that heat really does affect my running time.”
  • Kristi, “Really?  Am I really supposed to believe that you really believe that?”
  • Kristi, “Yes! Seriously!  I really do.”
  • Kristi, “Yeah, we’ll see.”

GREAT note and swag received from Lynne in the mail the day of our sluggish tempo run. Lynne works at Running Fit in Traverse City. Clearly everyone there is hoping I’ll be able to pull off a PR at Detroit. It’s hanging in my inspiration room on a wall I painted that makes it magnetic AND a chalkboard. I’m awesome.

Reverse Tri
With temps topping out on Friday in the high 90s/feels like low 100s, I wasn’t too sure what I was going to do on Saturday’s cross training day.  Christy was out of town.  Workout was on my own. How would I amuse myself?

I decided on Friday night I would go to the YMCA to swim.  Doug said he wanted to run and run about 4 miles on Saturday.  LIGHTBULB IDEA: I would do a four-mile warm up with Doug and then head to the YMCA to swim!  But…while I was running, and thinking about Christy supporting her brother in-law at a triathlon in Muncie, Indiana, I decided I would also bike at the Y!  A reverse tri of sorts-running, biking (recumbent bike), and swim.

Workout #1-Run 4 miles in 42 minutes. I haven’t taken a photo like this in a long time, i.e., Doug and I before we headed out on a run.

When we headed out the door, it was 80 degrees, and it was also 6 o-bloody’clock in the morning (Did I mention, I am a HUGE Anglophile?) Based on the pace Doug was planning on running (10:00) combined with the Jeff Galloway theory of heat running above, that put our projected pace time at 12:00.  Unable to maintain that pace, we clocked 4.02 miles at 43:36, with a pace time of 10:52.  The heat was intense!  Although I was doing most of the talking, at one point I was feeling out of breath and we were running a 10:38 pace.  BTW…the non heat index heat topped out yesterday at 100.

Workout #2-25 minutes on recumbent bike=2 miles. WTF??!?

I was a little bit surprised that despite what appeared to be an accelerated heart rate and sweat pouring all out of me (regardless of the very air conditioned YMCA), that I couldn’t bike any faster.  I mean, I was biking slower than running and felt much more tired.  After conferring with Christy today, she feels that this is standard for recumbent biking due to not being upright and lack of momentum.  Can anyone else chime in on this?  NOT that I don’t believe Christy, but I’m just looking for some other examples.  However, if your evidence proves Christy’s theory wrong, and thus is evidence that I was doing a lame job biking, I don’t want to hear it.

Workout #3-Swimming, 950 yards in 25 minutes.

I just can’t believe how much I’ve fallen in love withe the idea of swimming as sport.  I LOVE what it does for my legs and I LOVE what it does for my arms! I LOVE how good I feel when I get out of the pool, unless……I have a raging headache because my goggles were on too tight, which was blatantly obvious when I took them off in the locker room and still had imprints on my face.

A terrible look for me and terrible expression on my face. I tried one smiling, but when I scrunched up my face and my puffy cheeks take over (as they often do when I smile) the severity of the marks were lessened.

All in all a great workout day: 42 minute run, 25 minutes on the bike, 25 minutes in the pool.  This triathlon thing, I think I could get used to this.

Cool Running
Cool running?  Yes, indeed!  It was only 69 degrees with 83% humidity when we started and about 73 degrees and 68% humidity when we ended.  Again, referring back to Jeff Galloway’s heat running theory, we should have been tagging on an extra 60 seconds to our pace time, which was 10:44, making it 11:44.  Well, we fell way short of this goal!

On one hand, I didn’t feel very affected by the heat at all.  Most of the time, i.e., when I looked down at my watch, we were running between a 10:15 and 10:44 pace.  Yes, I realize this is faster than 11:44 pace time, but I guess part of me felt that since it wasn’t “that” hot, and I felt comfortable at the 10:15-10:44 pace, that we were good.  Yes? Refer above to internal conversation with myself where I doubt myself when I tell myself that I will run slower in the heat.  Sigh….

So why all this fast running?  I think it is because I am afraid. I am afraid that if I run that much slower during training, I will not be able to/will not remember how to run the time I need to run in Detroit.  And part of that is because I am a lazy runner, I get complacent.  If no one is pushing me, I don’t run fast.  So if I run slower, whether it’s heat related or not, and I’m running by myself, as Christy will be running Chicago two weeks before me, what is my motivation?  I’m not sure I can motivate myself enough if I’m running a leisurely pace and enjoying myself.  How f’ed up is that? Alas, welcome to the crazy, self-doubt induced, and over analyzed running life of Kristi.  I’d say enjoy the ride, but…..

Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

 

 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lynne Marie #

    good thought. If you run fast you will run fast if you run slowly you might run fast or you might run slowly so best bet is to run in training on the fast side Also your post swim picture looks just like The dog Snoopy so very cute. also in the reclined bike position you do not have gravity pulling your legs down. Maybe more work required

    July 10, 2012
    • 1) Running fast is hard.
      2) I think Snoopy looks much healthier in almost every photo I’ve ever seen of him then I do in my droopy photo.
      3) Yes, I believe gravity is the key!

      July 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

