Skip to content

FIRECRACKER 5K

Happy 4th of July!!

KG and I signed up for The Firecracker 5K.

 (Yes I know the above image is from 2010 but I couldn’t get the 2012 poster to upload as a jpg)

I really hate 5ks but I felt like I needed to be festive and I wanted to support the race.  My friends over at Champions for Charity always put on a great race!

Ready or not here we go.

We needed a plan.  Of  course my plan was to PR.  My 5k PR is 24:12. I ran that last December when it was 25 degrees. Today is was 50 degrees warmer and very humid. Maybe my goal should be to have fun?

Modified plan: come in somewhere between 24 and 26.

9 – Kristi Gilbert Ann Arbor MI  26:05.7 8:25/M

10- Christy Perros Ann Arbor MI   26:09.4 8:26/M

Ok, we were pretty darn close.  KG beat me but I think I should get bonus points for festive fingernails!!

All in all I’m happy with the results.  There were 50 women in our age group, we came in 9 and 10 and both of us hate this race distance. We got in a good speed workout and had a fun morning.

I’m off to a BBQ.  Hope you all have a great holiday enjoying family, friends and fireworks!!

One Comment Post a comment
  1. What is all this business about having fun, damnit?! I need to get more in the habit of thinking about this “fun” thing in terms of running. I mean, if you’re not having fun, what is the point?! Here’s to fun!

    July 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

