Skip to content

I HEART RUNNING AGAIN

I think I’ve finally recovered from my marathon hangover, letdown, disappointment.  I hear it’s pretty common to second guess your desire to keep running after a significantly disappointing race.

After the Ann Arbor Marathon I was quickly talking a good game about training for Chicago but the desire to lace up my Sauconys and head out the door for a long run was less than appealing.

Would you like to know how my first long run post-Ann Arbor Marathon went?  Ok, I’ll tell you.

As usual, the night before any training run,  I check in on the weather.  It looked like it was going to be a pretty close replica of marathon morning.  One of the things I enjoyed most that morning was when Legs showed up with cups of ice cubes for us at about mile 15.  She told us to suck on some cubes but to also put some in our hands and run with them until they melted.  Brilliant!  The ice felt great, cooled us down a bit and most importantly distracted us from the task at hand (running an additional 11 miles to complete the race!!)

I borrowed Legs’ idea and decided to freeze my water bottles Friday night so that they were little blocks of ice when I inserted them into my fuel belt Saturday morning.  It was great!  The coolness of the ice around my waist was welcome and it felt great to drink cold water as it melted.

By at little after 7:00 a.m. we were off

We have decided to run our long runs at 1 minute slower than marathon goal pace.  Pacer Eric recommended it and it sounds like a decent approach.  Running at this pace means we spent A LOT of time looking at our watches and telling each other to slow down.  It was hot and it was humid but for the first 5 miles we really worked to keep the pace above 10:00.

Then we ran by this jerk:

Hubbard Road, University of Michigan North Campus, Ann Arbor, MI

and I couldn’t pass up the chance to tell him how I felt about him

That’s me giving Hubbard Rd. the double bird

That, my friends, was where our 4:15 dreams were dashed.

Miles 5-10 were tough.  It was getting hotter and we were very naturally slowing down.  Instead of nagging each other to slow down we began saying things like:

CP -“What??  What does your watch say?  Mine says we are running an 11:07.”

KG – ‘Mine says 11:10.”

CP – “Well I feel like I’m running a 9 minute mile.  What’s happening.”

……and so on.

We decided that part of the problem was that we were running on Stubs that were still recovering from running 26.2 miles.  We also decided that it was still hot and humid and or bodies were just doing the best they could.  Good thing is our best was good enough because our average pace for 10 miles was 10:39 (according to my Garmin – mine goes on auto-pause when I stop for a certain amount of time – like to grab a drink in Gallup Park at the drinking fountain.)

Here we are post 10 miles on a hot, humid Saturday morning and we are all smiles!

Our best was good enough for me because of two things:

1. When I got home I was finally able to actually look at my marathon medal.    A volunteer put it around my neck on June 17.  I came home and hung it up with the rest of my finisher medals without having any desire to look at it.  Yesterday I was ready to take it in:

and 2. I realized once again:

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beware of training plans. I think you should learn the theory and purpose behind each training plan, but I think they should be very very lose (or is that loose? hmmm) guides to our running. Maybe not with the long runs and the length of the taper, but being a slave to a training plan sometimes forgets the notion of how different we all are. I tried so many different approaches to get my boston qualifier and had to go by trial and error. What helped me with long runs is to do some progressively faster runs where I did the last 4-8 miles at projected marathon pace. Not every long run though. Yes, they need to be slow so you can recover enough to do your workouts, but I think some marathon pace miles, especially at the end, really helped me. Of course, this is just me. It’s clear you all have the dedication and mileage needed to hit your goals.

    I got to go now, and flip off Huron River Drive. (I think that’s the road, miles 4 to about 9?)

    July 2, 2012
  2. Lynne Marie #

    Great read cp and welcome back to workout world

    July 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

