Skip to content

Detroit Marathon 2012 #mullettraining

Really!?!?!  This really happened?!?!  I am about to throw down with my best running bud!!!

The day after I posted this photo of my arm:

It might not be much, but it’s good for me!

Christy posts this photo of her arm:

RUDE!

I’m just saying, “Not very nice!” 

As I was lying in bed this morning in a quasi state of self-induced yoga paralysis, I was trying to figure out how I was going to make it to the YMCA for Swim Wednesday and swim without the use of my arms. 

Let’s back up.

YOGA MONDAY
Despite the fact that I have already faltered twice this training cycle (just couldn’t fit a 20-minute ab routine into my workouts on Monday and today), I did actually accomplish a yoga workout on Monday night.

As my parents and husband chatted upstairs in our family room and a comfortable, cool summer’s breeze blew through our windows, I was working out here for 45 minutes:

My basement, aka “workout dungeon”

As you can see, armed with my yoga mat and yoga blocks, I engaged in body contortions that left me, still at this point today, with reduced mobility in my arms.  It was not just any yoga workout, it was a P90X yoga workout!  Per their description, which I might add is very accurate, the P90X workout system is, “a revolutionary system of 12 sweat-inducing, muscle-pumping exercises designed to transform your body from regular to ripped.”  And yes, yoga applies to that category.  Or as Tony Horton, the host says, “P90X YOGA, my brotha!”

“Like” a normal workout, you do the same poses.  “Unlike” a normal yoga workout, you do them quickly and repitiously. 

“Like” a normal workout, you do chaturanga (below).  “Unlike” a normal yoga workout, you add push ups in between before and after chaturanga.

Chatarunga-It’s as hard as it looks.  If you think it looks easy, you’re either: 1) Lying or 2) Insane.

This adding of push ups would afford one the opportunity to get in about 20 push ups over the course of 45 minutes.  I. did. 5.

In addition to being treated to some extreme stretching, I was graced with a view of my cellulite-laden thighs each time I went into downward dog. For all of our 20something readers out there, and you know there is a TON of them, let me share a little secret with you:  IT DOES NOT MATTER HOW LITTLE YOU WEIGH OR HOW SMALL YOUR LEGS ARE OR HOW FIT YOU ARE.  YOU WILL GET CELLULITE!!

Here is a snippet of my yoga workout. 

  • Coming out of chataranga
  • Cobra
  • Plank (This is when the video actually comes into focus)
  • Downward Dog
  • Runner’s Pose
  • Warrior I
  • Warrior II
  • Twisting Triangle
  • Repeat other side

 As I watch the video I realize two things:

  1. I did the twisting triangle post incorrectly.  Awkward!
  2. I should have used a yoga block to prop myself up during twisting triangle, instead of trying to show off my flexibility for my legion of fans (which didn’t happen anyway), because my back, hips, and butt are not properly aligned.

While training for the previous “not to be mentioned, I can’t believe how hard it was, I’ll never do it again” marathon, I didn’t do any stretching on Mondays.  This time around I’m throwing it into the mix.  By the end of the training season I will have done a total of about 100 push ups, and by that I mean over the course of 18 weeks.  CLEARLY, things will be different for me in Detroit!

TRACK TUESDAY
Oh boy…Tuesday would be the first time I’d be face-to-face with Christy P since the running of the “not to be mentioned, I can’t believe how hard it was, I’ll never do it again” marathon.  While we have pretty much processed the hell out of that race at this point, there was still some processing to be done, and it was just fine.

While we were doing our “slow/warm up” run, I suggested that perhaps, at this point in the game, there really was no need to do 1600s at a pace of 8:11.  I mean, really, what would there be gained by this?  I, personally, thought it would be better for both of us if we “slowed our roll.”  Thank goodness she agreed!

I know this time around we are both committed to the training, but I think we both realize there is much merit in having a little bit more fun.  No need to take things so seriously! So our two warm up miles were 10 + minutes and instead of doing 3x1600s at 8:11, we did 1×1600 at 9:06, 1×1600 at 9:02, and then we dumped the last one and did a nice, leisurely 10 + minute.

Honestly, it was a great time!  We spent more time than usual chatting withe some local running speedsters-Lynne, LexAnn, Mary, Nelda, and Beth.  These women are also at the track on Tuesdays and have run Boston, Paris, New York, and many, many, more marathons! They are really good runners and they were so nice and supportive to the both of us during our training, and they were very gracious helping us lick our  “not to be mentioned, I can’t believe how hard it was, I’ll never do it again” marathon wounds.  Another fun incident was when two women came up to me and one of them said, “You work with my husband.”  Maria, is the wife of Brian (crazy, cool IT guy that sits behind me at work.  Yes, I said “cool” and “IT guy” in the same sentence and mean it).  Brian told me that Maria is a runner and triathlete so I sent him the blog one day and he forwarded it on to her.  It was nice to meet her and her friend Nicola (with a very cool English accent)!  I appreciated that she introduced herself as I always LOVE to meet my fans!  Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.  Oh, stop it!

GREAT first experience back at the track!

SWIMMING WEDNESDAY
So back to this morning’s self paralysis.  When I put unusual stress on muscles that are not used to it, i.e., lifting or insane yoga, it usually takes around 24 hours before the pain/soreness to set in.  So last night, right on cue, I had difficult using my arms to do things like open doors, put on a sweater, and brush my hair. And let me just say, as I just leaned over to pick up my 27 oz. klean kanteen metal water bottle, filled with water, that was not an easy task for me!

I wasn’t sure how swimming was going to do today, again, what with not having the use of my arms.  But, as is usual, my sweet darling pool was so good to me.  Once in the water, the soreness/pain/tightness diminished greatly, despite the fact that I was raising my arms over my head. 

Plus, I had a pretty good workout.  I spent about 22 minutes before Christy arrived swimming 1,000 yards , and when she arrived, we did our usual routine of 1,200 yards. 

A good, fun time.

BTW…if you are wondering what is up with the #mullettraining, I was telling Christy how much I liked her blog post last night (Despite the terribly cruel photo she posted of herself.  Actually it wasn’t a cruel photo of her, it was a photo of her that was cruel to me). I felt the levity of our Track Tuesday workout came through loud and clear.  We both again agreed that we want to have so much more fun during this training cycle.  I told her, “Our training this time around is going to be like a mullett-business in the front, party in the back.”

Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Christy P #

    As for the bulging bicep photo – it’s all in the lighting : )
    As for the push-ups….you might want to try to incorporate this into your training regime:
    As I drove North on Newport this morning after our lovely swim at the Y, I saw a dog squat down to take a crap in the lawn extension between the sidewalk and the road. As if on, cue the female dog walker dropped down to the sidewalk and began doing push-ups. I’m not shitting you! I figure Moxie must have to have a B.M. every once in a while when you walk so this might be just the ticket!

    June 27, 2012
    • In some strange way, you might have a very good idea….although I am not going to do a push up and bring my nose down to my dog’s sidewalk excrement, perhaps I should start incorporating push ups randomly throughout my day?

      Who knows….maybe I’ll do one tomorrow before and after our tempo run!

      As for my bulging tricep photo, it would be as big as yours had the photo been taken straight on, shooting up, with a window and kitchen back lighting. I’m absolutely sure of it!

      June 27, 2012
  2. I knew you were going to post about CP’s arm muscles vs. yours the minute I saw them both. KNEW IT.
    I still love all your descriptions, and thank you for making me feel better about my 37-year-old body’s cellulite.

    June 27, 2012
    • Dear HeebGeeb:
      I find your name to be very interesting. What are its origins. From where to hail?

      But seriously, am I spot on about her posting that amazingly beautiful, goregously sculptured, and no doubt, well-earned beautiful arms? She said she didn’t even make the connection, but……

      Interesting thought that just popped into my head…why do they call is cellu”lite”? Why not cellu”gross” or cellu”itsnevergoingaway”? Hmmm..

      Hey, throw a blog up there about swimming……

      xoxo
      Girl who doesn’t want to work her body hard but still wants all the benefits, especially when her friends have them!

      June 27, 2012
  3. Lynne Marie #

    great to have fun and I do believe you really did have fun last time too Being proud of your progress and good about a work out is like having fun Keep having fun

    June 27, 2012
  4. Lynne Marie #

    p.s. you both have great arms and bodies and great smiles and twinkling eyes

    June 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

