Skip to content

MARATHON TRAINING REDUX

That’s a fancy way to say that I’m trying to redeem myself from my sub-par performance on June 17.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know….you’ve all said it….you’re proud of me….not many people on this planet ever complete a marathon…..I trained hard and was served a difficult course on a hot day…..many veteran marathoners had no desire to run this race due to the less than ideal conditions.  For all of your support and all of your super kind words (which I do believe, thank you very much)  I need to prove something to myself.  I will find out on October 7 in Chicago if I am a marathoner or if I’m not.  In the mean time, I will train as if I am going to PR the hell out of Chicago.

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it

So how the hell am I supposed to train for this baby?  I’m not really sure but I know it will be different that training for Ann Arbor.  I will still only run 3 days per week and I will cross train with swimming and spinning each once per week.   I would really love to incorporate weight training back into my routine – ’cause we all know how wimpy I look.

No that’s not Alex’s arm – it’s really my dainty little petite self.

These are the jokes, kids.  My real reason for weight training is to prevent injury.  I’ve been lucky so far in that I haven’t had to deal with too much but I think I’m just asking for trouble by not strengthening my non-running muscles.  Also, I have to do some yoga.  The Stubs are tight!  Now what to do about the running part of training……Well, KG and I have decided that we are NOT going to do five 20 mile runs this cycle.  We may do 2 or maybe 3 but NOT 5.

We will definitely still hang out at the track.

Yay! Track party this morning. I think the track missed us : )

and we’re definitely up for our Thursday Tempo Runs (easy for me to say as I sit in my study-hehehe.)  But the long run plan – so many options.  In fact, I got all fancy on Sunday and put together a spreadsheet of a few plans, took a photo of them with my iPhone and sent them off to KG for her digestion.

Don’t mind the stubble on my legs, I’ve been recovering from a marathon and thought the effort of shaving might just be too much for me this week.

We’re going to have lunch on Thursday to formulate our official long run plan.  Oh and if you need someone to train you in the advanced methods of spread sheet development definitely call me.  Clearly I’m your gal.

This morning was the first time KG and I have run together since the marathon.  She brought me back this awesome shirt from her vacation (that was actually a little bit of work too) in San Fransisco.

So true!

I picked her up at 5:30 a.m. on the dot ’cause we had a track workout to get to.  We were going to run fast.  That thought lasted for about 3 minutes.  The plan called for us to warm up 10-20 minutes, do 3 x 1600 @ 8:11 with 1 minute RI and cool down 10 minutes.  We quickly decided that 3 x 1600 @ 9:00 was  a much more appealing workout.  We also decided that we were going to be diligently committed to our training plan but we weren’t going to take ourselves so damn seriously this time.  I mean really,  running slower than the target pace and laughing about something or other the entire time is much more fun!  So we ran kinda sorta faster than the warm up for 3 miles, chatted with the other women that we share the track with Tuesday mornings and had a hell of a time.

However, it was cold.  Like”KG you better go back into the house and grab a pair of gloves before we take off” cold.  I love running in this weather but being prepared is always key.  I don’t know if you can tell from the low-quality picture but there was very little blood flowing through my fingers by the time I got home.  I decided to take my gloves off part way through the run and that was obviously a mistake.

little blood flow = pale fingers

Thank you all again for your words of encouragement and support and for the 3 of you that asked me to continue to blog….I’m sure the other 307 followers of this blog agree with you!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. The only hill you will find on the chicago marathon is Mt. Roosevelt. (an ann arbor speed bump basically, but its right around the 26 mile mark.)

    I plan my training the same way, Long Runs first, and judging by your list, you have plenty of 20 milers in. And you are both up and doing speed pretty darn quick. Since the ann arbor marathon I’ve only done a few 5 milers which are run/walk breaks. Your posts in general remind me of my ten year obsession to qualify for Boston, and there was a lot of false starts. I basically had to experiment to finally mold a plan that worked for me, which included some weeks of just 15 miles or so, but also plenty of long runs including one that went 24 miles. I love the expression that it’s all an experiment of one. Don’t forget to enjoy the ride, and thanks for the post.

    June 26, 2012
  2. danlynnemixer@charter.net #

    I don’t know if I was one of the three but I am speaking for the other 307 and yes blog, blog, blog Lynne Marie

    June 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

