Skip to content

A MOSTLY LONELY RUN AT THE TRACK

It’s Tuesday and you know what that means……..track party!!!

But really – is it a party if no one else shows up…..and they even try to lock you out??

Is it a party if there is not a soul in sight for an hour plus??

As you might have gathered my partner in crime, KG, is still out-of-town and I’m still slogging through my workouts solo.  Usually we trespass at the University of Michigan’s outdoor track on Tuesday mornings.  Usually we see a few familiar faces: Mary C and Lynn D, the grumpy man who runs faster than he looks like he should be able to (show off) and a few other miscellaneous young women who are there to get their sweat on.  This morning I decided to change it up.  I ran .8 miles from my house to trespass at the Skyline track.

Blogger proof. There’s a photo so it happened.

Two strange things happened this morning.  The first was that I really did not feel like working out.  That’s not a common feeling for me at 5:30 in the morning.  Now take me 12 hours down the road to 5:30 at night and I’m all about not wanting to workout.  The second was that I was sure The Stubs would not be happy about the track party given the fact they had just run 13.1 miles 48 hour earlier.  (This is based on my experience from last year.  After last year’s Dexter-Ann Arbor 1/2 I didn’t want to run for a week.)  Strangely enough they were fine!  My hunch is that the lack o’ desire re: the workout had to do with the fact that I would be doing it alone and that I was afraid The Stubs wouldn’t cooperate.

Here I am as a shadow with a head full of negative thoughts about my upcoming workout:

kinda creepy

Here I am all ready to go.  I had Tom take the pic so that he could get a full shot.  He informed me that I look short when he takes a pic like that.  I forgot to tell you Tom’s a genius.  Not many know that people who are 5 feet tall look short.

BTW Dex-A2 shirt designer, a Woman’s Small should not look like a dress on me even if I am short!

Off my short self went to tackle today’s workout solo at Skyline High School.

Goal = 5 x 1000 @ 4:59 with a 400 RI

Actual = 4:59, 5:03, 4:56, 4:57, 4:53.  Boom.  Done.

……and the best part of all?  The Genius stopped by on his way to work at 6:45 a.m. got out of his car and cheered for me as I ran by!  He even yelled that I was holding a nice pace.  You bet your sweet ass I was.  I don’t run 8:00/mile for fun.  I know,  I know some of you do.  For me that’s a healthy, heart-beatin’ workout!

Love the ‘do and the red nose but I don’t look short do I?

So there you have it.  Solo track workout done. Hit my goals.  Feeling pretty darn good.

 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lynne Marie #

    good job kp this is the first time i have heard that you are short. short people can run really fast you can run really fast

    June 5, 2012
  2. Joan Benoit Samuelson (born May 16, 1957), WHO IS 5′ 2″, is an American marathon runner, who won gold at the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles, the year that the women’s marathon was introduced. As a result she was the first ever women’s Olympic marathon champion. Benoit Samuelson still holds the fastest times for an American woman at the Chicago Marathon and the Olympic Marathon.[1] Her time at the Boston Marathon was the fastest time by an American woman at that race for 28 years. Boo yah! Let’s hear it for “The Stubs!”

    June 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

