Skip to content

In totally non-related running news #lmfao

So I am watching, very briefly, the Billboard Music Awards the other night and LMFAO is receiving an award.  While Redfoo is making his acceptance speech, they cut to Berry Gordy (Detroit son and Motown founder genius), and I think to myself, “Gee.  I wonder what Berry Gordy thinks of music like this?  He must just roll his eyes.”  I mean when I think of the Motown Sound and the music they made and the way his groups looked-clean cut and very well dressed-he must just think, “What is going on with these young kids today?” (Or, to be fair, perhaps that is just me channeling the 68-year old woman who sometimes lives inside of me).

So then Redfoo (and yes, as a 44-year old I am embarrassed to even type that name) looks into the audience and thanks his mom and dad.  Cut back to Berry Gordy again.  WHAT?!?!?  Berry Gordy is that guy’s dad?  Now let me think about this.  Berry Gordy is my dad’s age (late 60s) and this guy is in his late 30s (I didn’t know this until I looked it up.  I just assumed he was in his 20s.  He is a very youthful looking 37 year old), which is not totally unusual I suppose.  Then I realize that the woman next to Gordy, who I thought might be a daughter, is actually a wife and most likely a second or third wife.  And thus, Berry Gordy siring a musical prodigy in his 30s makes sense.  I mean, why not?

But I’m not sure, so I look it up.  Sure enough…Redfoo’s dad is Berry Gordy.  But wait…it get’s better.  Redfoo (real name Stefan Kendal Gordy) was born in 1975-he’s not even 10 years younger than me!  How is this possible!  Anywho, the other guy in the band (Redfoo is the one with the huge hair), SkyBlu (yes, still embarrassed), whose real name is Skylar Austin Gordy was born in 1986.  SkyBlu is actually the newphew of Redfoo, which makes Berry Gordy the grandfather of SkyBlu!  Holy Music Royalty!

Who would have thunk it?

SkyBlu (left) and Redfoo (right) of LMFAO are the grandson and son, respectively, of Motown great Berry Gordy!

Have a great day, everyone!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Christy P #

    You do realize you have just gone to the dark side, right? You do realize that you blogged when you didn’t have to just because you had something on your mind, right? You do realize how happy this makes me, right? P.S. Remind me to tell you my LMFAO 10K PR story next time we are together.

    May 23, 2012
  2. Lynne Marie #

    awsome

    May 26, 2012
  3. Lynne Marie #

    awesome spell check

    May 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

