Skip to content

IT’S ALL COMING TOGETHER

I’ve had a crazy busy weekend.  I’m trying to stay committed to not having my marathon training interfere with the rest of my life.  It’s become quite a challenge.  The training method we are using, Run Less, Run Faster, claims that this is a great training program for those that don’t have loads of free time to devote to their training.  Thanks, but it sure does seem to be taking up a whole lot of my time.  I can’t imagine what a traditional marathon training schedule would do to me.

After work on Friday, Alisha and I headed down to Toledo to watch our favorite Company C member dance her little heart out.

It was a lot of fun and I am super glad we went…..BUT…..by the time we took pictures, ate some dinner with our favorite dancer and hit the road it was about 10:45 p.m.  That means we got home at 11:35 p.m. and I was in bed and asleep by about midnight.

NBD, right?  Well……I had agreed to begin our 15 mile run on Saturday at 5:00 a.m. to accommodate Kristi’s very busy day.  That meant a 4:00 a.m. wake up call.  Hmmmmm…….how was this going to work.  I function best on about 9 hours sleep.  I was going to get 1/2 of that and expect my body to run 15 miles.  Remember…..committed to having these runs not stop me from doing what I normally would.  Suck it up, you can nap later, right? (wrong.)

We started the run pretty close to on time and met up with Legs at mile 4.  Yay, Legs!!  We’ve missed you.

Here’s proof that she joined us and it’s been so long she forgot that she doesn’t show her face in blog photos.

After a sweaty 5 miles

As we ran by the AATA Transit Center, we noticed that we all matched a billboard:

Blue!

Green!

Black and white!

The run ended up being AMAZING! I mean look at this!  (Ignore lap 16, I accidentally started the watch again after we had completed the run and it recorded dead time and increased my average pace…..Grrrrrrr.)

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 2:22:38.0 15.01 9:30
1 10:10.5 1.00 10:11
2 9:22.7 1.00 9:23
3 9:34.9 1.00 9:35
4 9:02.4 1.00 9:02
5 9:30.0 1.00 9:30
6 9:10.1 1.00 9:10
7 9:23.0 1.00 9:23
8 9:43.8 1.00 9:44
9 9:47.0 1.00 9:47
10 9:55.4 1.00 9:55
11 9:43.2 1.00 9:43
12 9:33.2 1.00 9:33
13 9:12.5 1.00 9:13
14 8:42.5 1.00 8:43
15 8:56.1 1.00 8:56

I mean,  how the hell did I run mile 14 in 8:43? Crazy thing is I felt great doing it.  Our goal pace was to be 9:54.  We actually averaged 9:25……and KG was def running 8:30s those last few miles.  To quote Legs, “she was haulin’ ass!”

This was fun.  Yes, I did just write that!  I just called a 15 mile run beginning at 5:00 a.m. after 4 hours sleep fun.  Alisha asked if I was on crack.  No dear,  just properly trained :  )

And as they say “no rest for the weary.”  I had a lot to get done after the run.  Helped my Mom with some bulky recycling, ran some errands for work and home, did several loads of laundry and some cleaning, and bought my Ann Arbor Marathon outfit!  Nope, I’m not going to show you a picture of it….you’ll have to come out to the race and cheer me on to see it :  )

By this time it was about 5:00 p.m. and time for Skyline 2012 Senior Prom Pictures!  Our friend, David, was our photographer.  He  took some amazing shots! Thanks, Dave!!!

Alisha & Myles

All in all it was a great weekend.  My run was pretty cool but watching my daughter get ready and head to Prom was even cooler.  I must admit I’m starting to get a little emotional as I think about the next few weeks and all things Senior she will be doing.

Hope you had a great weekend too!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Heather #

    I love that you are such nerds that you all posed by the AATA billboards! And kudos to Leggs for finally showing her face! 🙂 Also, great run — and Alisha looks gorgeous!

    May 21, 2012
  2. I just want to say, that I think I CLEARLY look the nerdiest of all! Oh wait, that was a compliment, yes? xo

    May 21, 2012
  3. Susan C. #

    You gals and the matching AATA billboard killed me. Love the blog. Alish looks amazing. xo

    May 21, 2012
    • Christy P #

      Thanks! Keep following along to hear about more crazy antics…..in fact one post refers to “Christy Doodle Apple Struedel on your Noodle Goodie Goodie Gum Drops!

      May 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

