Skip to content

Day 69 of 112-Speed/Track Workout-#feelin’groovy, #something’scoming

I’m not really sure what is going on, but this is how I am feeling at this exact moment about running:

Feelin’ Groovy

I am indeed “feelin’ groovy.” 

I was sitting on the couch last night watching tv with my husband, who had so sweetly made dinner while I stayed late at work to post my blog #8kickstory, and I was so happy and realized that I was really looking forward to today’s track workout.

Went to bed at 10:30 p.m., had a good night’s sleep, woke up at 4:45 a.m., ate two Eggo waffles and a piece of cheese, finished up Sunday night’s episode of The Real Housewives of New Jersey (Damn!  That Theresa Giuidice is CRAZY!!!  She’ll get hers!!!), fed the dog and let her out, gave the cat her medicine, and headed out the door when Christy P pulled up in my driveway.

Speaking of getting up at 4:45 a.m…..below is a portion of the online “live” blogging during this year’s Boston Marathon.  Notice the comment highlighted in yellow?  Thank you, Mr. Boston Marathon Running Commentator for acknowledging that people who work out “at like 5:00 a.m” are amazing.  This is, I believe, the clear intent of the comment.  I will forever be indebted to Christy Perros for making me an amazing person and getting my arse out of bed in the wee hours of the morning!

You see it here in print/on the Internet-so it must be true. People who work out early in the morning, i.e., during unGodly hours, are AMAZING people!

And speaking of the Boston Marathon…..I would LOVE to run the Boston Marathon, because it would mean that I qualified for it, which would mean that I ran the fastest marathon time of my entire life by 40 minutes!!!  I am in awe of people who run that race.  I am in awe of people who run fast.  I am in awe of people who run. Period.

So where was I?  Ah, yes…the track work out.  I have to say, I kinda dug it today.  I thought it was going to be harder than it was.  Which, again, is not to say that it was easy.  We both rocked it, as you can see from our times below:

Check it out! We “beat” all of our goal times, and a few of them pretty significantly!

As I was getting out of the car when Christy dropped me off she said, “I feel good about that workout.  I liked it.”  And I completely agree.  We ran for 6 miles today, as opposed to the 7 miles we did at the track the last two weeks, and maybe that’s why I physically feel good; but I don’t think that’s entirely it.  I was tired after a few of those laps, especially the 2000, but I have run virtually the same pace for each track run (about an 8:00/mile pace) regardless of the distance, and I felt much better than I have during other track workouts.

I said in Sunday’s blog, #teamwork, #newattitude, #watchout, that I felt the “I’m sick of training” fog starting to lift.  I felt a little bit better about it yesterday, and today, well, you already know how I’m feelin’…..groovy!

Something is coming.  I can feel it, but I’m not sure exactly what it is.  Is it the end of my fog?  Or is it more?  Am I ready to run this marathon and get the PR I’ve been dreaming about for years?  Am I filled with emotions, thoughts, and feelings like, “I’m a good runner!  I train hard!  I deserve what I earn!”  I mean, for heaven’s sake, I am actually bummed that tomorrow is a rest day. 

So here’s to feelin’ groovy and for that feeling that something better is on the horizon.  Could it be? Yes it could!  Something’s coming, something good.  If I can wait.  Although, I’m not sure I can.

Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

Please enjoy the following brilliantly delightful songs, which are spot on musical interpretations of how I am feeling-right here and right now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

