Skip to content

Day 58 of 112-Xtrain-Spinning-#backinthesaddle

It does feel good to be back in the saddle, and I’m there in a few ways:

  • Exercise/Training
  • Diet

 

EXERCISE
Prior to Friday a.m., I hadn’t worked out since last Monday’s track workout.  Although Christy and I weren’t planning on doing a track workout on a Monday morning for the third week in a row, it went well.  I was tired from the birthday weekend in Elk Rapids for my dad, and didn’t sleep very well on Sunday, but we rallied and we pretty much hit our goal times:

The pace time of 7:41 for the 1600 isn't entirely accurate. After running around the western end of the UM track, I realized that I had hit the "stop" button on my GPS instead of the "lap" button.

Sadly, the reason we were doing a track workout for the third week in a row on Monday is because my husband’s grandfather died last Saturday and we knew we had to head out to Hightstown, New Jersey for the funeral.  Doug’s grandfather, Frederick Eugene Bernardin, Sr., was 92 years old.  He was a WWII veteran; spent the majority of his career working for the Long Island Rail Road; was an avid baseball player; took me on my first clamming experience; has a photo of himself and his brother as very young boys with BABE RUTH in the Baseball Hall of Fame Archives; he built the basement for the family home in Smithtown, Long Island, New York (after the house was already built) by digging it out, creating the forms for the cement blocks, and casting each of them on his own (with, as legend tells it, a little help from Doug’s dad and uncle); and, what I loved about him most of all, is that he was completely devoted to his wife of 69 years.  There was a love between the two of them that was full of admiration and respect, and it was always apparent. When she said her final goodbye to him at the cemetery, it was gut wrenching-but it was also sort of beautiful.  To have and know and experience a love like that is a real gift.  It’s one I feel that I’ve already been privy to and as long as I am healthy, I’d be thrilled to be married to Doug for 70 years. Good-bye, Grampa B.

Two really amazing people-Doug's grandmother and grandfather-Fred and Dotty Bernardin. I mean, just look at how much in love the two of them are. You can see it in her face as she cozies up to him.

The trip to the funeral was going to involve a 5-hour drive to Greensburg on Monday night, a 5-hour drive to Hightstown on Tuesday a.m., a 5-hour drive back to Greensburg on Wednesday evening, and then the final 5 hours back to Ann Arbor on Thursday a.m.—20 hours in a car over the course of three days, throw in a viewing and a funeral, and I knew there wasn’t going to be any running/swimming/training for a few days.  I had foolishly convinced myself that I would be doing a 6-mile tempo run after we got home on Thursday.  Ha!  That’s a good one.  I was just too tired.

But Friday’s 6:00 a.m. spinning class at the YMCA gave me the opportunity to get back in the training saddle!  You know why you never get two “rest” days in a row while training?  Because our bodies and memories have terrible memories!  In 2009, I ran the NYC Marathon in the beginning of November.  Due to the fall/winter weather and the fact that I had just run a marathon, not to mention the 4 months of training, I thought I’d take some time off.  Doug and I ran a 5K three weeks later on Thanksgiving, and I seriously thought I would die.  It was so hard to run that race.  It is, what I like to call, Body Dementia.  The body just forgets things, and the Friday a.m. spinning class was a perfect example.

From the moment class started, I couldn’t keep up.  If the “cadence” police had been there, I would have been arrested, thrown in jail, and the key would have been thrown away.  In spinning, you pick a “level” on the bike that is supposed to be your “gear zero,” and from there you go up to as high as “fifth” gear.  My “zero” gear started at 8 and then fluctuated accordingly so that my “fifth” gear wasn’t too hard.  LAME!  And yes, I realize that is not how you’re supposed to do it.  I realize that I am supposed to push extra hard during those 2 minute intervals in a truer “fifth” gear, as opposed to a “fifth” gear that has been adjusted so I don’t fall off the bike.  And the cadence thing…he said the cadence should be at 100, 120, 130, 135.  Are you kidding me?!?  I felt I was peddling to save my dear life and I was always about 10-15 below where I was supposed to be-and you all know it’s not because my bike was in too high of a gear.  I looked at how fast I was peddling, I looked at Christy, I looked at the go-getter in the orange top who is in her late 20s/early 30s and is always in the front row and they didn’t seem to be peddling that much faster than me.

My intent was to stay in the class until 7:00 a.m., but as soon as Christy P said she was leaving at 6:45, I decided the noble thing to do would be to leave with her.  I mean, to be the only one to leave an exercise class early is just embarrassing-draws too much attention to oneself.  So I pulled the ultimate sacrifice-missing out on 15 minutes of a spinning class that I was just in love with-in order to support my friend.  If there are no follow-up questions, that is my story.

WEIGHT
Last fall when I started running with Christy, I was also doing Weight Watchers again for the umpteenth time in 11 years.  I went to WW the first time when my sister-in-law was getting married and I was going to be maid of honor and the oldest in the wedding party by about 8 years.  I’m a goal-oriented person, so it worked for me.  I wanted to lose weight by a certain point and I did.  Down 25 pounds, it also made my running much easier.  Unfortunately, by the time the marathon rolled around, I had put back on a few of the pounds.

By this January, I had lost 17 pounds and was looking great, feeling great, and running really well.  But then I started back with bad habits from a food perspective and I’ve gained about 4-5 pounds.  People have told me before to not try to lose weight while training for a marathon, and I get the basic premise of that-you need energy and fuel if you are going to do this to your body; but sadly, I’ve used that excuse one too many times.  I know that my weight gain of 4-5 pounds isn’t from too much pasta-it’s from eating garbage and snacking because I thought I could get way with it since I’m doing so many long runs.  Not this time, sista!  I’ve got 6 weeks left before the marathon and I’m going to run that race at 120 pounds!!

So I decided on Friday morning I would weigh in and start keeping track of my food intake again.  Honestly, I don’t know any other way to lose weight-I need to be accountable and WW helps me do that.

I have an interesting relationship with the scale because my weight loss/gain has a huge impact on me from a motivational perspective.  If I gain a little bit, it can take a huge toll on me emotionally, so I work things to my advantage.

Weight #1-Wearing pajamas

Weight #2-Naked. Down 1.5 pounds from initial weigh in.

Weight #3-Naked and after having gone to the bathroom. Down 2 pounds from initial weigh in.

Gee, which weight was I going to enter into weight watchers.com?  If I entered the first weight, I have the possibility of loosing even more weight for next Friday’s weigh in.  However, if I enter the first weight, there is the possibility that it will show I gained weight since the last time I weighed in-and this is the mental road block I deal with.  I’d rather show a weight loss this week then a gain this week and more of a loss next week.

BONUS! I entered the "right" weight.

Here is what I have learned over the course of the past 11 years being on and off Weight Watchers, anyone really can lose weight-the trick is keeping it off.  I know! I know!  It’s such a cliche, but it’s so true.

So in addition to the world, as I have no doubt that Rise.Run.Repeat. has fans from all over the globe, tuning in for my marathon training foibles, they will now see my attempt at loosing weight and all my “tricks” to get there.  I overindulged last night (a bottle of wine plus a trip to the movie theater) but today I’ve done pretty well.  I’m counting on tomorrow’s 20-mile run and at long last a “normal” training schedule this week, to help me snag a weight loss for the week.  How much do I want to lose?  It doesn’t matter, I just need the scale to head south.

GOALS
June 17, 2012
Marathon Time: 4:15:00
Weight: 120 

Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. sweetopiagirl #

    Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

    April 28, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Day 60 of 112-Long Run-20 miles #hopespringseternal | Rise. Run. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

