Skip to content

Day 54 of 112-X Train-Reucmbant Bike-#blech-indoorworkout

As you know by now, the last two weekends we have done our long runs on Fridays.  The good news is that to accommodate the change in schedule, I didn’t skip any workout days prior to the long run.  The bad news is that I haven’t been very good about working out on Saturday or Sunday.  While I have not yet missed a running day, I have missed a few of my other cross training days.  So when Doug and I left for Elk Rapids LAST Friday, we agreed to be home on Sunday by around 4:00 so Doug could get some school work done and I could head to the YMCA for some cross training.

The Ann Arbor YMCA is downtown in a residential neighborhood. I love that I can walk there and I love the streetscape, which looks better if you are looking west-but the sun was such that it wouldn't have worked. Enjoy your easterly view.

In my former life, i.e., BC (Before Christy), I spent my winters NOT running outdoors at the pre-crack of dawn, but working out on a variety of cardiovascular equipment inside at the YMCA from anywhere between the hours of 6 p.m. and 10 p.m.  Regularly-scheduled workouts were not a part of my routine.  So while I was glad for the opportunity last Sunday to get in a cross-training workout, I wasn’t looking forward to hitting the workout room at the Y. 

Here it is. The room of gloom. Outside running in the dark is so much better. One day a few weeks ago as I was swimming I looked up and saw the folks working out on the treadmills and Elliptical machines and all I could think was, “Suckers! Drones! Get off of those machines and jump into the freedom waters of the swimming pool where every move you make is a total body workout.” Sigh….

Here I am, all settled in to “Recumbant Bike #1” for the next 30 minutes. If you are wondering if I was embarrassed to take this photo of myself with people on both sides of me and behind me, the answer is—yes, yes I was. And, at the risk of pointing out the elephant in the room, what is up with the 3 zits and 1 age spot on my face? Well, just 1 age spot that you can see anyway.

I did a 30-minute interval workout on level 9, which was harder than I thought it would be, especially during the 3, 2-minute intervals when the workout is such that I am biking up a hill.  Man, you would have thought I was in labor the way I was huffing and puffing and scrunching up my face.  Although, for full-disclosure purposes, I’ve never given birth nor been in labor, so I don’t actually know what I would look like.  I suspect, however, that me in labor would not be one of my finer moments in life.

 It wasn’t the most enjoyable workout, indoors using cardio equipment never is for me, but at least I did it.  So here’s to doing the workout that you don’t want to do, but that you know, on occasion, you should and need to do.

 Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

 OMG!  I just finished reading this post and even I’m bored by it.  Let’s end on a much cooler, kick-ass note, which exemplifies all the reasons why I run in the first place!

Compliments of my kick-ass, awesome friend/aunt-Ms. Lynne Mixer.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Leighann Bitah #

    Elliptical machines are wonderful for workout routines. I used it when i want to tone down my muscle tissues and lose weight fast.,,’;: Yours trully health supplements site

    July 11, 2012
    • Howdy! Thanks for the comment! I am a big fan of elliptical machines myself! I’ve been using them for about 20 years. They’re great when I need a good cardio workout, have to be inside, and can’t bring myself to run on the treadmill!

      July 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

