Skip to content

BODY IMAGE AND COMPRESSION SOCKS

Wow!  You guys are a curious bunch.  Now that all of my Facebook friends know what I look like in a swim suit I no longer have to feel self-conscious on the beach!  I had more views of that blog post (93 and counting) than any other single post in the history of me.  I think the most views on a single post of mine prior to that was about 35. 

I remember my Mom saying that the older she got the less concerned she was about what she thought other people thought about the way she looked.  (did you follow that?)  Now, I get it.  I do care about how I look but I am less concerned about looking “perfect.”  This is quite liberating and actually a little humorous.  When I clicked on “publish” to make that post go live, I actually laughed out loud.  Kind of couldn’t believe I was doing it and then couldn’t believe that I didn’t care. 

I don’t care that I’m short.  I don’t care that my eyes are a little on the beady side.  I don’t care that I have scarred and crooked fingers. I don’t care that one of my front teeth is slightly discolored. I don’t even care that I have developed a decent amount of cellulite on The Stubs even though they are stronger than ever before.

NOPE I’m not this girl:

So happy to be in my mid 40s and more comfortable in my own skin than ever before!  Ok, blah, blah, blah.  Yay, me.  A healthy body image is important and all but let’s get on with the real reason I blog….to tell you about my marathon training!!

This morning called for a tempo run.  6 miles.  1 mile easy, 4 miles at 8:59, and 1 mile easy.  I struggled with the Tempo run last week and as you recall we bailed on it just as we were finishing the warm up.  We completed the distance but not the prescribed pace.  Kristi is out-of-town so I needed to do this one alone and I needed to get back on track.  Two failed Tempo runs would have been bad news for the ol’ psyche!  So I did this:

It's that shirt cute? Best part is that it was handmade for me by Kristi!!

Yes, I had to DIG DEEP.  This was just a mid-tempo run so I needed to get my butt in gear and hit the pace.  And, guess what?  I did!!  In fact this is how it went down:

Mile 1 – 9:36

Mile 2 – 8:43

Mile 3 – 8:56

Mile 4 – 8:51

 Mile 5 – 8:44

Mile 6 9:40

Remember goal pace for miles 2-5 was 8:59.  It felt so good to be back on track.  Now, I must confess.  I decided to change my route so that it wasn’t soooo hilly.  There were a few hills in the new route but they are more strategically placed.  Also, the weather was just about perfect.  Not much wind and 50 degrees.  It rained for the first 15 minutes or so but that felt good.  I ran in shorts and these:

Compression socks!!!

Kristi has fallen love with these things and I now know why.  I think the pair I have is probably a “medium” in the compression dept.  I’m not sure they would be great for recovery purposes but I absolutely loved the way they felt on The Stubs on the 6 mile jaunt.  I’ll wear them again on Sunday and let you know how we feel about each other after 20 miles.

Tomorrow is a spinning day.  I haven’t done that in a few weeks.  I’m sure it will kick my butt.  Send me energy at about 6:30 a.m. tomorrow morning, ok?  Thanks.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I do not know ONE woman who doesn’t struggle with body image! In fact, I’ll be addressing that in my blog this weekend. Hell yes I would be happier if I was 6 inches taller (With at least 2 of those additional VERTICAL inches located between the upper end of my gut and the bottom of my boobs. And 2 more inches to lengthen out my thighs would be good too). That being said….I am not going to grow vertially by 6 inches and as much as I would like it, I realize I’m not willing to work as hard to get it. Besides, I’m not sure I know one person on this planet as confident as you are, so whatever you’ve got goin’ on it’s working! So: 1) Here’s to be short! 2) Here’s to body parts that are out of proportion with other parts! And best of all, 3) here’s to growing older and wiser and caring less and less about #s 1 and 2!!

    April 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

