Skip to content

I’VE GOT RACING ON MY MIND

Oh, hi there!  You caught me daydreaming.  With all of this training, training, training, and more training, I’m kinda thinking I’m ready for a race.  This is a tough spot to be in.  The training plan we are following is so specific that every dang run is a key workout.  It’s all a carefully calculated plan to help me deliver a top-notch performance on game day – June 17.  But, all this work makes me want to have some fun.  I’m ready to feel nervous for a few days.  I’m ready to be too excited to sleep the night before a race.  I’m ready to wake up race day morning and not be able to eat because I feel like I’m going to vomit.  Yes, ALL of that sounds good to me right now. 

So go race you say?

Easy enough but there are a few risks involved here.  First, I could go all out on race day which would theoretically translate to a successful day but by doing so I could make my training more difficult for the next several days.  Would it be the end of the world if I couldn’t complete a few key workouts successfully? No, probably not.  But, it would mess with my head.  Then, of course, there is always the risk of injury when you are pushing yourself.  I would really hate to put in all the work I have over the last 4 months only to come up lame because of a silly little race that I wanted to win.

With all of those things in mind, this is probably what will go down:  My friends at Champions for Charity are hosting a cute little 5K at my kids’ High School on Mother’s Day.  Last year was the inaugural year of Ready Set Fly.  This race is a fundraiser for Project Healthy Schools. It was a fun race to take part in.  I felt like I was supporting the school, a great program, and my community…….and then this happened:

on Saturday May 21st, 2011

Christy Perros

successfully completed the
Ready Set Fly 5k

Official Finish (Chip) Time  26:30.9
Pace:  8:33/M

Age Group Female 40-44 Finish: #1  Gender Finish: #10

Overall Finish Place: #44

What?  Who?  Me?  1st in my age group?  Are you kidding me?  At that time I was running pretty consistently with my friend, Beth.  Right before the race she told me I was going to win my age group.  I’m sure I rolled my eyes (’cause I’m really good at that) and said something like:  “You’re crazy.”  Of course, it was a small race so my odds were better but still.  Who woulda thunk? 

But. Now. The pressure is on.  I would love to come in 1st in my age group again but I would also be happy if I ran the race faster this year.  I know I can.  My 5K PR is 24:13.  I snagged that one at the 2011 Holiday Hustle.  Again, running with Beth. 

Festive, huh?

She wanted to run the thing with all her heart and about 2 seconds after the gun went off, I decided I might as well just chase her.  The problem with that strategy for Ready Set Fly will be that I risk above mentioned injury or burn out for a few days after. 

So, if the running Gods are reading RRR (Run.Rise.Repeat) they will allow me to run a race faster than last year, not get hurt, and come in first in my age group.  I don’t think that’s asking too much.  Do you?

Finally, to those of you that have said I’m too thin, blah, blah, blah:

Whoa, not my most flattering photo. Why I have the guts to post this on the blog I have no idea.

 

 Those are not The Stubs of a woman who is underweight.  Sorry, hope you weren’t eating lunch ;  ) 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. You rock. I love and admire your guts.

    April 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

