Skip to content

HELLO! #didyoumissme

Hi there friends!  So sorry I’ve been MIA.  It’s been a busy 6 days since I last wrote at you.  Don’t you worry, although I was busy, I never once let my marathon training suffer!!  Yes, so let’s talk about The Stumps.  They kind of feel like this lately:

See how she's all top-heavy and her weak little legs can barely hold her up? That's how I feel these days!

I’ve never had skinny little legs, they are full of muscles which was super cool in middle school and high school, trust me.  I just loved being the kid that had “curves.”  Later in life The Stubs and I came to an agreement and I understood that it was ok to have a lower extremity that looked like two 100-year-old oak trees.   Running has definitely slimmed them down a bit and for that I am thankful.  I digress.  The issue I’m dealing with right now is that they feel tired and weak all of the time.  I guess that’s probably because I’m putting them through the paces:  1 track workout a week + 1 tempo run + 1 long run + 1 spinning class + 1 1200 yard swim = Unhappy Stubs.  I’m missing that fresh legged feeling that I used to get every once in a while that would turn into a really good run. I may or may not do something to address this issue…..stay tuned. 

Last time I posted, I was coming up on a rest day on Thursday and looking forward to a short-long run (only 13 miles – yay!!!) on Friday.  I needed to be on the road and headed out-of-town by 10:00 a.m. and Kristi needed to be to work by 8:30 so we did what any rational runner would do; we started our 13 mile run at 5:15 a.m. on Friday morning.  See, we were looking forward to it!

5:15 a.m. - fresh and ready to hit the road

….or so I thought.  I think the road hit me.  It was a hilly course but one that we are very familiar with.  I never got comfortable and I never got into a groove but I did get it done. 

I would be out-of-town for the next two days and would need to squeeze in a cross-training workout of some sort.  Initially, I thought that I would go on a little 5 or 6 mile run with a brother-in-law or two but that didn’t work out.  So, I did the next best thing and hit the hotel gym.  It was really hot in there and I knew I didn’t want to run on the treadmill – I was supposed to do a cross-training workout anyway so why do I keep talking about the possibility of running.  I do not know.  I decided to hop on the recumbent bike for 30 minutes and the elliptical for 30 minutes.  Before you call me out, I know that my training plan says that the elliptical is NOT a cross-training workout but sometimes you just have to make the best of what you have.  It was a boring 60 minutes but I was able to find some entertainment in this:

Self-Portrait on recumbent bike

I could not stop laughing after I took this picture because I think I look exactly like Stretch Armstrong!  Remember him and his buddy Stretch Monster??  Maybe this will jog your memory:

Sweet toys from the 70s!

Don’t you see the similarities?  Thank God I don’t walk around with my arms outstretched all of the time.  Ok, I’ll wait a minute while you catch your breath and dry your eyes from hysterical fit of  laughter you are in.  Genetically speaking all I can say is Thanks.  Thanks, Dad for passing on all of those muscle genes to me.  It’s really come in handy on a girl my size.  Sheesh…no wonder I never had a date  in high school.

Moving right along…Sunday was a rest day and rest I did.  Thanks for driving all of the way home, Tom.  My nap worked out much better in the passenger’s seat than it would have in the driver’s seat. 

We’re switching things up again a bit this week as it’s Kristi’s turn to go out-of-town this coming weekend so our long run will once again be on Friday.  That means we were in the pool for a little swim yesterday and then my favorite…..TRACK TUESDAY!!!  However, I don’t think the track was as excited to see us.  You probably can’t tell exactly what this is.  It’s a gate that is locked.  How rude University of Michigan.  Didn’t you remember that Christy and Kristi were coming to visit this morning??

Fortunately, we know how to handle this.  We immediately went into trespass mode and hopped that fence!  I was looking forward to the workout 6 x 400 at 1:57 with 1:30 RI.  Do that twice with a 2:30 RI between sets.  Sounded fast and fun with a decent amount of rest.  It was great!  Definitely my most favorite track workout yet.  I also got brave and laced up my not-so-stable-much-more-minimalist-hot-pink-shoes because I thought a track workout might be a better use for them than a 15 mile run in the snow.  So far, so good.  No Achilles pain.  Hopefully, that holds true for the next 24 hours.  And look, I match!

I'm happy because I'm wearing pink shoes and because I do not know yet that we are locked out.

Now you’re all caught up.  Catch you on the other side of a Tempo Run!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

