Skip to content

Days 44-Rest and 46-Swim-#nicebreak

Day 44-Nonworkout-Thursday, April 12; Day 46-Workout-Saturday, April 14

REST
Not much to say here about resting except that it was a good rest day-didn’t work crazy hours at work, ate a good meal, and got to bed at a decent hour.

So, I thought I’d share three bits of motivation:

  • GREAT quote
  • GREAT photo and quote
  • GREAT fun little video

GREAT Quote
“I don’t have a runner’s body, but I have a runner’s heart – and that is all you need. “

– Army Sergeant Jennifer Morris, Runner’s World Challenger currently deployed to Bagram, Afghanistan

Man, that is spot on for me!!  I’m 5’1″ and I weigh (as of yesterday at 7:00 a.m.) 124.6 lbs.  These are not typical running body stats; however, like Sgt. Morris says, heart goes a helluva long way!!!

GREAT Photo and Quote

Not only do this blonde and brunette look exactly like me and Christy (please disregard previous comment regarding my height and weight), the sentiment expresses 1 billion percent how I feel about the time I've spent with Christy. Actually, the brunette's body isn't all that different than Christy's.

Photo and quote above is posted on another running blog: runninglibraian.com

GREAT Fun Little Video
Apparently, the Rise. Run. Repeat. blog is inspiring millions of Americans everywhere to get off the couch, pull on their running shoes, and head out the door to the University of Michigan Track.  Well, o.k., it’s just one American and he was already at the track because he went to the UM baseball game.  Video of Ryan, compliments of his mom, Michelle.  Thanks, Chelle!

I don’t know about you, but he sure seems to enjoy the track workout just a tad more than I. Perhaps it is his approach—run a little less than 100 yards, turn around, and weave your way back through the running hurdles.  Hey, it’s worth a try.

SWIMMING
I have to say that Friday’s 13-mile run made me a little stiffer than I thought I would be by the end of the work day.  Each time I got up out of my chair, my first few steps were a little rough and I couldn’t seem to do it without uttering some type of noise, like a groan or a moan of agony.

So when I thought about a post-run workout for Saturday….swimming it was!

Now that I am getting up very early three days a week to work out, my body clock will pretty much guarantee I am up between 6:30 and 7:00 a.m. all on my own.  Also, the fact that Moxie is hopping into bed with us at 4:30 a.m. doesn’t make 6:30 a.m. seem that early.

So I’m up and downstairs by 7 a.m., ate breakfast, watched last week’s episode of Mad Men, which I just LOVED (Side note:  Enjoying Mad Men this season more so than in season’s past.  I’m very interested in where this is all going), and was out the door to the YMCA by 8:15.

Open swim on Saturday a.m. is from 7:00 a.m.-9:00 a.m. so I wasn’t sure how crowded the pool would be getting there an hour after it opened.  I was very pleasantly surprised because it wasn’t crowded at all.  Also, although I think that Christy and I are two of the youngest swimmers at the YMCA on Wednesday mornings, I was noticeably younger than everyone swimming there yesterday.  I’m not sure why/if this even matters, but these are the things I take note of—my surroundings—when I am working out in the event that they might come in handy during a dull blogging moment.  And what do you know?  I’ve taken up a paragraph with it.  Hmm….not sure if this is good or bad.

It was a good workout, 1,600 yards in 30 minutes, and I am really enjoying the stroke when I put the floaty device between my knees and just use my arms-it feels like such a good arm strengthener!

Not much more to say about that except I was pleased to swim that far in 30 minutes.  I think my swimming is coming along pretty well!

But what I was most excited about yesterday was a website I stumbled upon, via Facebook and their “targeted” advertising.  It is called shop.cafepress.com and they sell a lot of cool marathon products, including posters, t-shirts, mugs, stickers, etc.  Here are the three of my favorites:

Sometimes the pain lasts a little longer than I want, but it never lasts as long as the pride. When I ran and struggled during the NYC Marathon in 2009, I figured it would be my last marathon; I mean, how many times can you prove you can run 26.2 miles and what's the point? Well that was basically over the moment we arrived at Central Park the next day to buy shirts and jackets that said 2009 NYC Marathon FINISHER.

This is the back of the shirt, and I have to say, based on my experience, this is soooo true! And it is such an amazing feeling when you cross that finish line and you know you have done something that such a small percentage of the world's population has done! You really do feel invincible.

This one was my absolute favorite! I'm not kidding, I started to tear up as I was reading it!

Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Christy P #

    Absolutely love this post. As for me looking like that brunette stud, that is hilarious! I actually laughed right out loud for several minutes. Looking forward to the training week. Hahahahahahaha! No, really, I am!

    April 15, 2012
    • What are you talking about? OK, maybe there are some differences between you and the brunette: 1) Her hair is long and 2) I suspect from the photo she is taller than you. But aside from that…Hey, wait a minute, you weren’t cracking up because I compared myself that that other blonde were you? Good swim workout today. Looking forward, no really I am, to tomorrow’s 2x6x400.

      April 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

