Skip to content

Day 41 of 112-Xtrain/Swimming-#thistooshallpass

I am at the point now where I feel like starting each blog posting with DISCLOSURE is me being annoyingly unwitty.  So I am no longer “disclosing.”

Workout: Monday, April, 9, 5:40 a.m.
Posting: Tuesday, April 10, 7:52 p.m. (23 minutes until University of Arkansas press conference regarding today’s firing of head football coach Bobby Petrino for not “disclosing” the details surrounding the events of his motorcycle accident with a 25-year old female coworker on the back of his bike.  Hmmmm, I said I wouldn’t disclose, I didn’t say I wouldn’t judge).

I said to Doug last night, “What am I going to say in my blog today?  Today I was supposed to swim. So I went to the YMCA and swam.”  He said, “Yes, say that.”

Today I was supposed to swim. So I went to the YMCA and swam.

This is what I felt and looked like when I left for the YMCA, i.e., semi-brimming with enthusiasm.  Vacation wasn’t what I thought it would be and so I hoped getting back into a regular routine would help snap my head in shape and get me back into the training game.

Brimming with faint enthusiasm.

This is what I felt like when I saw Christy walk into the pool at 6:03 a.m., i.e., Yeah!  It’s so great to be back with my training buddy.  All is right with the world (Diclosure-this is an old photo-but it is what I felt like).

"Together at last; together forever. We're tying a knot, that never can sever.

This is what I felt and looked like at the end of the day at 9:25.

Kill. Me. Now.

Day 41 of the training, week 6—I believe I am plateauing.  I am exhausted.  I am drained of all enthusiasm. Why am I doing this?

I believe part of this is due to vacation the week prior:

  • Different routine.
  • Running in temps 20 degrees higher than what I am used to.
  • Running 20 miles and 16 miles 4 days apart.
  • Trouble sleeping and not in my own bed.
  • Travel time (airplane and car).

I believe part of it is due to the work day on Monday.  It wasn’t overwhelming, it wasn’t taxing, but I worked straight through the whole day.  Yeah, I know;  people do this all the time.  And I’m not sayin’ it’s rocket science, but I was tired.

I believe it is also due to the amount of crap food I have been eating over the past week:

  • I had an ice cream sundae (vanilla ice cream, Hershey’s chocolate sauce, Spanish peanuts, and whipped topping) the previous 7 days in a row.
  • Fruits and vegetables have not been a main stay of my diet for a few weeks.
  • I went “shopping” at 7-11 yesterday to get cat food (not for me).  Here is what I came home with and ate right away, right before dinner: an entire bag of cheddar pop corn, a Diet Pepsi, and a mini bowl of Cocoa Crispies.

What I believe most of all?  This too will pass, and by the middle of next week-I’ll be back.

Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

PS  Today’s photos have been “Instagrammed” in honor of Instagram co-founders Kevin Systrom and Mike Krieger who sold their company Instagram on Monday to Facebook for ONE BILLION DOLLARS.  Instagram has less than 12 employees.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. beth simmons #

    I love, love, love reading your blog! Keep going sista!!!!!!

    April 10, 2012
    • Beth, I am glad that you like reading the blog! AS you can tell, sometimes I enjoy the blogging and sometimes…not so much. But it’s comments like this that bring such a huge smile to my face and make me realize that we really are making the world a better to live for all of humanity. Oops! I think I am confusing this posting with my “Goals for World Peace” speech, which I have close at hand in the event I find myself on stage in a beauty pagent. Hope all is well! Did I mention to you that my dad and I are going to Oklahoma City for the Women’s College World Series in May/November? Cheers! KG

      April 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

