Skip to content

GEARING UP FOR 20 #2

By this time tomorrow I will have:

Traveled with my family to Toledo, eaten ham, potatoes, peas and arugula, rolls, spinach & strawberry salad (yes, Lisa that is what we are bringing!), consumed a cupcake or two, drank a beer and possibly a glass of wine, oh and run 20 miles!!!

I post this message just so you don't think I think I look cute in the running pics I share with you. I know I look like a hot mess!

As per usual Sunday morning I will be starting my jaunt at 7:00 a.m. with Legs.  Unfortunately, Kristi won’t be joining us.  She’s traveling back from her Spring Break vacation and won’t arrive in Ann Arbor until the wee hours of Sunday morning.  Being the smart woman that she is, she already got her long run in and will be tucked-in, snug as a bug, while we are hoofin’ it all over town. 

I saw a friend today who is leaving Wednesday to run the Paris Marathon on the 15th.  Maybe someday I’ll do something fancy like that.  She also gave me this article about a very inspiring runner: Kathy Martin.  Read it.  You won’t be disappointed.

Between the talk of race plans, reading this article and the gorgeous Spring day,  I am jonesing to race.  I haven’t run a 1/2 in about 6 months and the last time I ran competitively was a 5K in December. I’m ready to toe the line again sometime soon. 

‘Cause I want one of these:

....not the shirt, the feeling.

Happy Easter and/or Passover to those of you that are celebrating this weekend. 

See you on the other side of 20!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. OMG!!! My uncle subscribes to the NY Times so he played for me on Tuesday the video they had on Kathy Martin. Is she amazing or what?!?! While watching that piece play I thought to myself for the first time, “I have only scratched the surface of what I can do as a runner,” and that was really powerful for me!!

    Secondly, I know you are going to rock it tomorrow! You had a KILLER time last week and tomorrow, after tonight’s dinner, is gonna be great for you! I can’t wait to hear about it!

    And thirdly….what do you mean you don’t want that Runner’s High tshirt?!?! I sure as heck do! What website did you find that on?!

    Good luck! You will be great! Give my love to Legs!

    And most importantly…..HAVE FUN!!

    April 7, 2012
    • Christy P #

      Thanks, KG! And, actually, I want that shirt too. It’s a Nike shirt. I’m gonna do a little research…..

      April 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

