Skip to content

THE DAY I CHEATED ON THE TRACK

Ok, I know what you’re thinking!  You’re thinking, “Aha!  She finally cracked.  She finally missed a workout.  She finally wimped out and gave in.  She finally decided the prescribed workout for the day was more than she could handle. I knew it.  She’s not so perfect after all. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!”

Well, you are right about one thing:  I AM NOT PERFECT. Duh.    But, let me just say I completed the prescribed workout more perfectly than I ever thought possible. 

Here’s how it happened. 

As you all know, Kristi is basking in the sun, chillin’ with family, and basically really taking her rest time seriously.  Of course, she too is still following the training schedule.  Her locale and my lack of a training buddy has altered our typical training week.  Yesterday was a rest day so today was the first day of this training week that we had to figure out how to fly solo.  My UM Outdoor Track love fest had to be replaced.  I’m sure my lovely track missed me this morning but I just didn’t want to risk being all by myself in the dark hours of the morning.  I wish I didn’t have to think like that but I’m a woman and so I do.  I decided a few days ago that I had a few choices: 

1. Wait to do the workout until after work and go to an outdoor track

2. Go to the Y at 5:30 a.m. and do the track workout on the treadmill. 

 Hmmmmmm, which do you think I chose?  Yes!  You win!  The early morning workout won by a landslide.  One really positive thing about running inside this morning was that I didn’t have to layer up!  I got to run like this:

Please don't look at my hair or my unmade bed but don't my shoes look cool.

Here’s more evidence that I’m at the Y at 5:30 a.m. and not at my beloved UM Track:

Silly me, I kind of made a fool of myself to James who works the front desk.  I was my usual chipper self as I was swiping my key tag and our conversation went something like this:

Me:  “Good morning, James!   What are you doing here on a Tuesday?  Are you covering for someone?” 

James:  “Good morning, Christy.  Um, no.  I am here every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday.  You are the one that is usually not here on a Tuesday (or a Thursday, you slacker.”)

Ok, he didn’t say the last part, he is much too sweet to call me out like that.  I was just a little embarrassed that I came off like the world revolves around me or something. Sorry James.

Anywhoo, back to my cheatin’ ways.  I had convinced myself last night that this Track (interval) workout on the treadmill would be kind of simple.  It called for a 10-20 minute warm up, 2 x 1200 @ 6:03 with 2 minute rest intervals and then 4 x 800 @ 3:58 with 2 minute rest intervals and finally a 10 minute cool down.  Now we know our track workouts basically push us to go somewhere around 8 minutes miles at varying distances and rest in between. I’m a smart enough cookie to figure out that a 1200 is .75 mile and an 800 is .5 mile.  Cool.  Easy peasy.  I can do this.  I get on the treadmill and quickly realize that it is yelling at me:

Ok, ok, hold your horses

Humpf, you’ve never heard me complain about The Track getting feisty with me.  The nerve. You would think the treadmill would be a little better behaved knowing that I am cheating on my #1 to spend time with it. 

Shortly after the scolding, I was off. I must say, I have forgotten how long 10 minutes on the treadmill can seem so I decided I was “warm” after 10 minutes and got the show on the road.  Cranked the speed from 6 to 7.5 and hunkered down.  I hung in there for 6 minutes or .75 mile and slowed it down to a 4.5 for my 2 minute rest.  Huh?  Not bad.  I did this again and then moved on to the 800s.  I decided that I should push it up to 7.6 – I know, crazy!  I did that 4 times with my rest in between and then wrapped up with a 10 minute cool down.  Other than looking at the time (on the wall, on the t.v., on my phone, on the treadmill display) 12,000 times, surprisingly, the hour I was running really flew by. I must concede one thing to my track substitute, the treadmill really keeps you honest.  Unless you hop off you have no choice but to go the pace you set.  I really enjoyed not having to monitor my pace. I think The Stubs really enjoyed that too.  They weren’t required to speed up ’cause we’re going too slow, now slow down ’cause we’re going to fast, no wait too slow again, and so on. Don’t worry, The Track won’t be getting any Dear John letter from me any time soon, but in a pinch the treadmill is a decent substitute for this type of workout.

Just in case the two women on either side of me are blog readers, let me give you my sincerest apologies.  I know my sweat was flying everywhere and that’s just gross. Warning: I’ll be there again on Thursday-you may just want to steer clear of treadmill #7 ;  )

After my fun little run, all I could think about was how much I wanted a bagel.  Not just any ol’ bagel – I wanted a Zigerman’s Deli Detroit St. bagel.  It’s their version of an everything bagel and it has fennel seeds on it.  Yum! 

 

And, I washed that down with my new favorite water: Metromint

So, now you know my dirty little secret.  I had to stray from The Track.  I hope he understands.  I think he will.  I guess we’ll find out next week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

