Skip to content

RESTING AND HYDRATING

Just wondering, did you know I have to run 18 miles tomorrow??  If you’ve been within a 10 mile radius of me within the past week, I know you know cause I talk about it a lot! Why do I do that?  My guess is that it is because I get a bit nervous about these long runs.  It kind of feels the same as the few days before a race.  It’s a good nervous.  It’s also a nervous that tends to clean out the system (if you know what I mean.)  Does anyone else feel this way about their long runs?

So, what am I doing to prepare for running for 3ish hours tomorrow?  I’m resting and hydrating, of course.  I’m not resting like this:

Just chillin' with Tina, a doughnut, and a CAN of Dew!

That girl is going to complete a marathon of sorts tomorrow – on day 2 of her vacation!  Be sure to check out her recap of that event in a few days.  I think she’s going to have lots of fun!!

In between my resting and hydrating, I’ve been thinking a lot about my fuel for tomorrow.  I have decided that I am going to run with protein shake rather than water in my water bottles and I’m going to bring along some of these guys:

I think I mentioned that there was one aid station set up at our 11 mile group run last week.  They had some fun options including Swedish Fish and Pretzel M & M’s.  The M & M’s really hit the spot.  I compared the nutritional information between Pretzel M & Ms and this:

Espresso Love you are my fav

Turns out there isn’t a whole lot of difference.  I’ll let you know tomorrow if my stomach agrees.

Last week we were out on the run, stopping to go to the bathroom and waiting around for the group run for a total of about 4 hours.  I found that I got pretty hungry round mile 15 of the run.  I’m hoping to avoid that because that just wasn’t a good feeling.

I also hope I can get a good night’s sleep so I can keep up with Legs for at least part of the run.

Speaking of Legs.  I found a sport that equalizes us :  )  Spinning!  You see, no matter how much faster she is peddling she can never get ahead of me!  Muuwaahahaha.

Me in the pink - Legs in the green

And here are KG and me leaving class early cause we’re quitters like that and Legs is in the background still spinning away.

Quitters (or I have to get to an 8 a.m. meeting)

Have a great weekend and check in with me tomorrow to see how 18 + Ice Bath #2 went.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

