Skip to content

I GOT BY WITH A LITTLE (LOT) OF HELP FROM MY FRIEND

Hello everyone!

As you’ve probably caught on by now, Wednesdays are swim days.  My swim yesterday was rather uneventful and I’m really busy with both my work and personal life so this little hobby of a blogging I’ve developed has had to take a bit of a back seat.  Let me just sum up the pool workout like this:  I swam, I got my heart rate up,  I got the workout done in a decent amount of time, I get to check that one off my list.

Moving right along to Tempo Thursday!  I didn’t have the best night of sleep.  I swear I was up every.dang. hour.  The good news is that I feel back asleep relatively quickly each time but I wish I could just sleep through the night once in a while.  I know this is a common problem for those of us in our mid 40s but I didn’t want it to happen to me :  ( 

Fortunately, I woke up feeling pretty good – refreshed and ready to attack the run.  Or ready to attack something!

At least I look like a friendly robber, no?!?

Tom said I looked like I was preparing to rob a bank not go for a run.  I thought I looked like I was ready to scale a tall building – at least that sounds nicer and more athletic.  Have no fear,  I did put on a bright pink coat so the cars could see me and the cops wouldn’t chase me.

As I said before , going into it, I was feeling pretty good about this training run.  We were to run 6 miles: 2 warm up, 3 at 8:44 (fast tempo) and 1 cool down.  I knew it would be a challenge but I was ready…….or so I thought. Mile 1 wasn’t too bad and neither was mile 2.  I think those 2 clocked in at 9:30 and 8:50 respectively.  Then we had to start to run fast.  The middle few miles of this route are filled with hills.  I know this.  I was prepared for this.  The Stubs were not.  By mile 3 I realized that someone had inserted lead into my veins.  You runners know exactly what I’m talking about.  No matter what your head thinks your body just doesn’t want to cooperate.  This my friends, is where my friend came in.  Kristi has alluded to the fact that our Garmins never register the same pace.  It’s really weird.  Even when we are running side by side the Gs disagree.  I was feeling lead and my Garmin was registering paces that were supporting that feeling and way off our goal pace.  I was pissed and I wanted to give up. By this time I was about 5 steps behind Kristi.  She just kept plugging along and saved the day by frequently calling out the pace her Garmin was tracking. At this point my G was registering a 9:17….yes!  a full 33 seconds slower that goal pace BUT her G was registering an 8:40.  I decided to dig deep, hope her G was smarter than mine and pray that I made the goal pace.  It worked!!  Mile 5 is all uphill and once everything was said and done and I was home I checked the mile paces my G registered it showed me that mile 5 was an 8:42.  Yes!  Mission accomplished.  I must say with the way I was feeling, if Kristi hadn’t been there to support me, I would have been done and it would have colored my whole day.  I would have been very disappointed that I didn’t hit my goals.  The good news is that she was there,  she did exactly what I needed in terms of support and once again we had a very successful training run!

We both wish we were tall like Hobbs not stumpy like Calvin but what can you do?

Tomorrow Kristi and I are going to spin at the Y with Legs!  That means 3 things:

1. I get to see Legs twice this week and that’s a very good thing.

2. I get to get my workout in before 7:00 a.m. and we all know how I feel about that!

3. We may have to stop work a little early at ATI and crack a brew since I don’t have to scurry off.  Haven’t done that in a while.  Anyone from Absolute reading???

Final bit of good news – we get to back off on our mileage this weekend and only have to run 18.  Whoo Hooo!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Erin #

    Beer at work? Who does that?

    March 30, 2012
    • Erin #

      It wasn’t meant to be a trick question. The answer, of course, is that people who get to work at awesome places for awesome bosses get to!

      March 30, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Day 30 of 112-Tempo Run-#thatswhatfriendsarefor | Rise. Run. Repeat.
  2. Day 35 of 112-Tempo Tuesday-#moralsupportfromadistance | Rise. Run. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

