Skip to content

Day 28 of 112-Speed/Track Workout-#idon’tknowwhatohash

The WEATHER
What?!?!?  It was in the 80s last week!  Over the weekend, I packed up my “winter” running clothes!  I’m not saying it should be in the mid 80s in Ann Arbor, Michigan, in April, but I find this disturbing and unacceptable!

Mother Nature is a cruel mistress!

Now, at the risk that I am being slightly over dramatic (Who? Me?), I was prepared to run this morning in significantly cooler temps, but I was just hoping it wasn’t going to happen.  Last night I did something I haven’t done in many, many, months….I stayed up until 1:00 a.m., which left me with about 4 hours of sleep.  To wake up sleepy and late enough that your pre-run meal is two handfuls of Kashi Go Lean Crunch as your ride is sitting outside in her car waiting for you is bad enough.  But to get to the track to run and then the wind starts to cut through you, that’s just not cool (Well, it is actually literally cool), especially when a week before you were running on the same track at the same time in shorts and a short-sleeved t. The only “good” thing about the cold temps is that I was able to wear for a second time my new running shirt that I bought at Running Fit before the Shamrocks and Shenanigans Run a few weeks ago.

Is it just me, or is there some slight resemblance between me in my new running shirt and Andrew Garfield as the latest Spider Man?

Andrew Garfield as Spider Man.

The good news this week when we got to the track is that we eventually figured out last week that we didn’t have to jump the fence to actually get on the track, and so we  just walked right in.

Although walking through the open gate was much easier, it wasn't nearly as fun as climbing the fence.

Oh wait…just one more picture!  One more picture of the two of us wearing our winter garb to prove how cold it really is!!  One more picture because the documentation of our workout today is  clearly  my evil ploy to annoy Christy in an effort to fire up her and get her running around the track!!  (See self-confessed comment in Christy’s blog from earlier today. Scroll down to the fourth paragraph where she blatantly admits to cursing me! Mon Dieu!)

Not sure why we're smiling when it's so cold out. Oh wait, I know why! We LOVE us some track workouts!

The RUN
I was sort of dreading the track work out today: 3×1600 at an 8:11 pace. It’s one thing to run a 200, 400, or 800 at a fast pace, but to do the whole mile!?!  That fast?!?  With just a minute recovery in between?!?  And to do it in 27 degree weather with tights, long pants, my Spidey Shirt, another shirt, and a wind-breaker?!?  How’s a girl to run fast with all those clothes on?  Well, I suppose you just do because 1) Not only are you supposed to but 2) Clearly you can! 

Still beating our goal times.

For the most part, when I run I am glued to my GPS.  I check it often to see what pace I am showing to gauge how I am running.  As you can see from the times above, we did a pretty great job!  This pace was probably the closest to our goal pace since we started doing the speed workouts at the track, and you know what?  It was lovely.  I ran slightly over an 8 minute mile and I wasn’t dying-no burning in lungs or throat, no clompin’ around the track-it just felt nice; it was manageable; it was like: “A perfect run has nothing to do with distance. It’s when your stride feels comfortable,” Sean Astin-actor. Testify, my friend!!!

 And as I was coming around the bend on one of our laps I realized this 8:11 time, of which I was so afeared prior to starting, is 15 seconds SLOWER than my recent Shamrocks and Shenigans 5K PR in recent years!  I can do this!!!

“Success is a state of mind. If you want success, start thinking of yourself as a success.”
-Dr. Joyce Brothers, psychologist, tv personality, and advise columnist 

Can I get an, “AMEN!!”?  Go, Dr. Joyce!

The LOVE LETTER
Dear GPS/Garmin Forerunner 110: If Christy is going to profess her love publicly for the track, I must do the same for you! How did I run for 19 years without you by my side? For the past year, you’ve been an indispensable part of my training-helping and guiding me along, giving me insight into my body’s abilities, never complaining about the weather.  So it is with some amount of hesitancy that I offer up the slightest amount of constructive criticism (Criticism of any other sort at this point in our relationship would be unacceptable).  Why are you and your cousin, the Gamin Forerunner 305, unable to track times and distances with any amount of similarity???  I love you, you know I do, but when I’m the one calling out our pace time in order to try to make sure Christy and I are running at an appropriate pace (interpret as “not to fast”) and I’m telling her we are running at an 8:06 pace and Christy is cursing me (once again no doubt!) because her Garmin 305 tells her she’s running under an 8 minute mile, why are you both so different?  Christy and I are running right next to each other and at the same pace.  And why, when I “lap” you after I’ve completed a 1600 meter run and you tell me my time is 7:37 does the time actually show up as being 8:07?   Hey, I’m not going anywhere and I’m not letting you leave either, but if you could please try to work things out with your cousin, we’d all be happier.

Come on, now. Can't we all just get along?

Le SOUVENIOR, de m’aider à ne pas oublier.
I love a good memory; I love a good reminder.  That’s all I’m sayin’

How can these NOT be magic? Just look at them glow. It's a sign-first it was Tiger Woods and now it's glowing cones.

The END.
For those of you who are dying to know what those “psedo-accupunture needles/neck tacks” look like that I posted a photo of me wearing on the front of my neck yesterday…Here you go, I just took them out.

See the little things sticking up? It's metal and they have been in my neck for the last two days.

We’ll be in the pool tomorrow a.m. with postings to follow.

Oh, by the way…I didn’t stretch last night.  I was too busy running errands geting ready to leave for Siesta Key on Friday night for my spring break vacation!  So my record of taking an extra day off every Monday over the course of the past 28 days still holds!

Carry on, friends.  Carry on.

The REAL END.

Leave a Reply

