Skip to content

RECAP OF MY FIRST 20 MILE RUN EVER!

Wow!  I did it AND it went much better than last week’s 17 miler.  I have a feeling the lack of alcohol the day before had a little something to do with it.  If you recall, last Saturday was St. Patrick’s Day and I had a 50th birthday party to attend.  Of course, I had to have a beer to celebrate St. Paddy…..ok, ok, it was really more like 2 beers and was Arbor Brewing Company’s Sacred Cow.  Sacred Cow is delish but it also carries a fairly high alcohol content.  Those beers were at 1:30 p.m. then I went to the party at 7:00 p.m. and had 2 glasses of wine.  Yes, I know that equals 4 drinks but they were spaced out and I drank a lot of water so I thought I would be ok.  WRONG!!  Seriously, how can a person that literally loses 5 lbs of sweat on a 10 mile run thus creating her own little dehydration issues expect that she can also drink 4 alcoholic drinks 24 hours before she is going to run her first 17 mile run?  Chalk it up to the fact that sometimes we all have a little idiot in us.  I am smart enough to learn my lessons fairly quickly and swore that I wouldn’t have anything to drink yesterday even though we were going to another 50th birthday party…..yes, our friends are getting old.  I wondered how my plan was going to play out since I was pretty sure that they were going to serve Satchell’s BBQ  just like they had for Carrie’s 50th a few months ago.  They did.  I caved.  How can you not have a beer with good barbeque.  Oh shush.  I know it’s possible but I just couldn’t resist.  So, I enjoyed a Stella Artois with my meal. (please note that I was responsible enough not to drink a high alcohol IPA.  Give a girl some credit!)  I chased that ONE BEER with 32 ounces of pure water.  Yes, I’ll take your pats on the back now.

Here’s Karl blowing out his candles:

There were a lot more people there than it looks like and we had a great time. Happy 50th Karl!

We were home by 9:30 and I was in bed by 10.  Not bad.  Decent night’s sleep and then the alarm rang right on cue @ 6:00 a.m.  I checked the weather first thing and decided this run called for shorts and a long sleeve shirt.  Our plan was to run 9 miles from my house up to Tortoise and Hare on Plymouth road and then catch up with a group run the store was hosting that began at 9:00 a.m. and followed an 11 mile loop.

Here we are ready to bust out 9 miles:

Legs is camera shy

Whenever we ask Tom to take a pic he takes about 3 but it feels like 12 and I get annoyed.  Here I am trying to get my phone away from him so that he stops taking pictures!

Flattering. Very flattering

We haven’t run urban miles in a while.  The route from my house to Tortoise and Hare took us down Stadium Blvd, up Liberty Rd, through downtown, out Fuller Road to Huron Parkway and up to the store.  We all felt like it was a nice change of pace (kind of a pun intended.)  My goal pace per my training plan was 10:44.  I even publicly promised Ellen that I would slow it down this week.  But The Stubs had other plans.  Sorry, Ellen.  Sometimes I just can’t argue with those guys.  We felt good and we held about 9:30’s for the first 9.  Yay, we made it to our sort of halfway destination and are feeling pretty good! Here we are at the store:

Runners milling around getting ready to run 11 or 22 miles.

And then this happened:

So, you may or may not know that I sweat  A LOT  when I run.  Yes, no matter the temperature, sweat just pours off of me.  Yes, it is gross.  We walk into the store and are greeted by 3 very young men that work there that are clearly very observant.  The conversation went something like this:

3 Guys:  Hi. Welcome.

Us: Hi!

3 Guys:  Looks like you’ve already been out running.  (see I told you they should be P.I.s)

Us: Yes!  We have.  We ran 9 to get here.

3 Guys: Wow.  Is it raining out there?

At which point I realize they are all looking at me and the pool of sweat (I mean rain) that is pooling on the floor.

Me: No, I just can’t seem to control my sweat.  Sorry.

Ugh.  In hindsight I really wish I had just said. “Well, yes.  It is raining like crazy on the West side of town.”  Wah wah.

The 11 mile portion of our run was relatively uneventful.  Our pack of three broke up pretty quickly with Legs leading the way, Kristi G holding steady in the middle and me bringing up the rear.  The route was mostly on country roads and I’m sure it was beautiful.  Unfortunately, I don’t get to enjoy the scenery as much as I would like because I am constantly looking down to make sure I’m not going to run into a pothole or step on a huge rock.

The only question I have is: Who was that guy that was running opposite us that was telling everyone, “Don’t worry, there is an aid station at mile 9 with water and fuel.”  Dude, you’re telling me this at about mile 3 of the group run which is my mile 12 and it’s still 6 miles away!  Not helpful.  Needless to say, I made it to the aid station and they had great snacks!  Sweedish Fish,  Pretzel M & M’s, peanut butter pretzels and pretzel rods.  Oh yeah, water and Gatorade too.  I chugged a cup of Gatorade, ate 4 M & Ms and 2 Sweedish Fish.  I also nabbed 2 fish for the road.  They were individually wrapped and I decided I would like a little company for my last 2 miles.

And here are all three of us.  After 20 Legs was a little delirious and forgot NOT to show her face on camera.

Yes, I am still sweating. What's up with those goofy little pieces of hair on my forehead? Antlers? Snail antennae? A misplaced handlebar mustache?

Garmin proof:

20. Done.

Next on the agenda was an ice bath.  I didn’t know enough to be dreading it.  Recipe for ice bath:  Fill tub with enough cold water to cover your legs while sitting (about up to your waist) dump in 2 bags of ice,  dress like it’s the dead of Winter from the waist up, have a hot cup of tea ready to drink.

That's frozen water, you know.

Dumped that ice in and I was ready to go…..or so I thought.  I put my feet in for about 10 seconds and hopped right back out.  Ice Bath, who?  Are you kidding me?  Who does this?  It hurts!  I AM NOT DOING THIS.  I attempt to talk myself out of the tree by reminding myself that I told Legs and KG that I would be doing it.  I don’t not do what I say I’m going to do.  Christy, get your ass back in the water.  Back in I go.  This time I hop out and begin to cry.  No I’m not doing this.  I don’t care how much better it will make me feel.

Enter my very supportive husband.  Of course, he wants to know why I’m not in the water.  Tells me to shake it off and get back in.  I inform him that I’m not going to stay in unless he stays in the room and keeps me company.  Awesome guy that he is he did and he took this picture.  I managed to stay in for 12 of the 15 minutes I planned to.

Don't worry I did manage to submerge my legs some of the time

And because I was such a brave girl, after I warmed up, I rewarded myself with this:

Salted Carmel FroYo with strawberries, mango, and granola

All in all, great run.  Pretty day.  I was scheduled to run at a 10:44 pace and I ended up with an average pace of 9:48.  Sorry, Ellen!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. WOW! How totally amazing and awesome are you!? Big Time! So, I have so much to say, what a shocker, eh? First of all, pertaining to the run: A quick Internet search has returned the following information-About 1-2% of people will run a marathon in their life time. Do you get that?!? You are in the 1%! Ha! Also, you are going to do something that such a small percentage of people in the world will ever do. Do you get how awesome that is??? Also, YOUR FIRST EVER 20 MILE RUN!?!?! AWESOMESAUCE!!! That in and of itself is completely amazing, but when you factor in that last weekend you did your then first longest run and then this weekend 20 miles. Um…hello!! But wait, it gets even better…..What I find to be the most inspiring part, is that last week you struggled in the run and it got you down, but you turned it around in a week! A lot of people would not have been able to rebound in just over a week, but your dedication, your commitment to being an athlete, your process….is just amazing. And this process resulted in such an amazing time/pace for you today! You should be so incredibly proud of yourself, if you are half as proud of you as I am…..Now, comments about the blog…HILARIOUS! That picture of you in the tub with your coat and hat, I would never have imagined. When I was at your house after the run I thought it was really odd that you were in your robe and holding that jacket and hat. I got the robe, but I thought, “What is she doing cleaning out the closet at this moment?” I had no idea. I cracked up when I saw that photo! You are a great writer, you are a great runner, but what I am most grateful for, is that you are a great friend!

    March 26, 2012
  2. heather #

    Christy P, I just gotta say I love a girl who sweats! I, too, am a full-on, no-holds-barred Sweat Hog, no matter the temp/weather. My own HUSBAND has asked me if I’ve just gotten out of the shower when he’s seen me walk in from a run and shed my clothing. Really? A shower? Wherein one gets clean and un-sweaty? Unbelievable.

    March 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

