Skip to content

Day 20 of 112-Xtrain or rest-Really? You gotta ask at this point?-#inspiration

I got nothin’ to share with all y’all about the fact that I didn’t cross train yesterday and that I actually rested.   So I thought I would talk to you about inspiration….

For me, as a runner, inspiration is really important and it can come in a lot of different forms-a challenge, a movie, or something someone does or says.  Because I like to think of myself as a writer, I place a lot of value on the written and spoken word, and so one of my greatest forms of inspiration are the Runner’s World Daily Kick in the Butt quotes I get via email.  If you are interested in getting them delivered to your email, go to runnersworld.com  and click on the RW Daily.

What I find so amazing about the written word is that almost every quote I get seems to come at the right time! Whether it’s something I’m experiencing or something that someone I know is experiencing, what I love is the fact that these quotes were made is indicative that as runners we’re not alone!  These thoughts of joy or despair, these aches and pains, these are things that have been experienced by other runners before us, and will be experienced by other runners after us! We are individuals, but there is a commonality to our experiences.

I hope you’ll find as much inspiration in these quotes as I did.

“I’m making up for lost time. Aging comes with a perspective of what is important, and for me it’s to run as long as I can.”
-Steve Hughes, runner of 100 marathons after turning 60  (GO STEVE!!!)

 “To keep from decaying, to be a winner, the athlete must accept pain – not only accept it, but look for it, live with it, learn not to fear it.”
-Dr. George Sheehan

“Run hard, be strong, think big!”
-Percy Cerutty, running coach

“I love to run in new places and would love to go and run on a trail in Colorado or Arizona. My most recent rave run was returning home to Ocean City, New Jersey, and running on the beach and boardwalk, where I had not run since high school. It brought back great memories.”
-Scott Flicker, Runner’s World Challenger of the Week

Here’s some motivation for those of you that fight the resistance to stay in your warm beds in the wee hours of a winter’s morn:

I’d also like to share with you a piece of personal inspiration I received 21 days ago from my husband. Doug and I have run our four marathons together, and for a variety of reasons it is with a bittersweetness that I am going this one alone (Well, I’ll be with Christy P, but without him).   He is such an amazingly generous and kind person. His words on Day 1 of our marathon training not only inspired me, they made me cry.  I’m such a lucky, lucky, girl!

Carry on, friends. Carry on.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    March 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

