Skip to content

ACTUALLY, SCRATCH THAT, I LOVE YOU!

I owe lots of apologies to The Track.  I was far to quick to judge.  You see, I don’t like to be wrong and I don’t like to admit defeat.  Going into this training program I had romanticized track workouts.  I thought it would feel fantastic to run my guts out, recover, run my guts out, recover, x 5 or so.  Turns out it wasn’t so much fun.  So after 3 full track workouts I felt confident in declaring my hatred for The Track. 

Our track workout times and locations keep changing due to my crazy life/schedule.  The first two were at the University of Michigan indoor track at night and the third was at the Ann Arbor Pioneer High School outdoor track at night.  This morning we had to mix it up again.  I needed to get my workout done before work and the high school tracks are just too dark at 5:30 a.m.  Kristi G’s peach of a husband, DB, checked out the lighting at the U of M outdoor track for us on his was to work yesterday and gave us the go ahead.  By his estimation the ambient light at this location would ensure that we wouldn’t  trip and break our necks. 

So, yes, it was at the U of M outdoor track that I fell in love.  I do believe it was a combination of various things that allowed The Track and me to reexamine our relationship. The rest of the story is best told through a pictorial:

I START BY CHANGING MY WARDROBE:

Compression Shorts! That's the ticket. I'm sure they'll make me run faster.

 THEN I DRINK 8 OZ OF A PROTEIN SHAKE:

Chocolate Protein Shake will definitely give me some extra energy, right?

 I LOVE A MORNING WORKOUT

On my way to pick up KG.It's dark.It's early morning!!

WE ARRIVE AT THE U OF M OUTDOOR TRACK

We look happy, don't we?

HAPPY UNTIL WE ENCOUNTER THIS: 

HEY KG HOP THAT FENCE, WILL YOU?

KG, don't get hurt. It will ruin my workout.

 I’m not really sure which of these changes, if any, are what allowed me to see The Track in a different light. Maybe some, maybe none.  Maybe the fact that we actually ran the prescribed pace and not faster (most of the time.)  Whatever it was, I’m takin’ it.   

 BYE BYE U OF M TRACK, I LOVE YOU!

Damn, that was a good workout. See you next week, my dear!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

