Skip to content

Day 16 of 112-X-train/Swim-#writingonthewall

Since I am posting on Monday, March 19, about my training on Wednesday, March 14, and have thus been graced with the benefit of hindsight, I feel obligated to disclose said hindsight.

Last Wednesday was our swimming day.  I actually had to get in and get out quickly because of a revised flight plan for my sister and niece, thank you Delta Airlines for your last-minute notice of bumping up flight schedule by two hours.  Clearly, my marathon training plan is not a priority for Delta.  Can you even imagine?

As usual with my life, I plan everything down to the second.  I am getting in the pool about 5:30 a.m.; I have to be out of the pool by 6:15 a.m.; I have to be leaving the Y by 6:25 a.m.; I have to be home by 6:30 a.m. It’s about 5:35 and I’m in the water and Christy is looking for some different flippers so I decided to get a head start.  I’m going to do some pre-warm up laps.  I start swimming freestyle and I’m thinking, “What is going on?!?!  Why am I moving so slowly?  Oh yeah, I don’t have flippers on!”  And as soon as I thought about how tired I was, I became tired, and stayed tired for the whole swim.  It didn’t really matter if I had flippers on or not, I was tired. 

So I leave the workout not feeling great, and then I rush home, and then I rush to the airport, and then I rush around at home to get ready for work, and then I rush into work. 

I knew Wednesday was going to be a loooooooooooooong day at work, and on those days I tend to get lazy with my food.  On Wednesday I went to Wendy’s for lunch, and while there are relatively healthy menu items from which to choose, if I’m going to Wendy’s, I’m getting a junior cheeseburger, large fries, and a medium pop. NOT the healthiest of meals.  So take that meal and combine it with working until 2:30 in the a.m. on Wednesday, and then working on frantically Thursday through a tornado warning to get a submittal out the door, and then skipping Thursday’s workout because I’m exhausted, and then sleeping in late on Friday and not doing a work out, and then having run out of  Suntheanine tablets on Sunday….and you get the perfect storm of an unhealthy week-bad food, no sleep, too much work/stress, no access to relaxation supplements.

So what is the point of all of this?  The point is, that when my body responded poorly to the workout on Wednesday a.m. I should have realized that something was up-this was not usual for me.  While there were things for which I was going to have  no control-the long work hours AND the tornado-I could have controlled my food better, and I could have been smarter earlier in the week about my sleep when I knew what Wednesday and Thursday had in store for me. 

When you are engaged in a rigorous training program like Christy and I, your body and mind really need to bring their “A” game.  You need to be rested, you need to be relaxed, and you need to be prepared to adjust your workout routine without freaking out about it.  So, if at all possible, consider taking a look at your week at the beginning of the week and seeing where you can/should make adjustments to accommodate your work, personal, and training life-in order to bring some balance and perspective.

Carry on, friends. Carry on.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

