Skip to content

Day 17 of 112-Tempo Run-#play-list, #play-ingitsmart

On Wednesday afternoon at work, when it become apparent that I would be working very late that night, I sent Christy P a text that said I wouldn’t be able to meet up with her on Thursday a.m. for our tempo run-that she should go alone and I would do it on Thursday night.  This was really smart of me because I ended up at work on Wednesday night/Thursday a.m. until 2:30.  Had I woken up on Thursday at 5:00 a.m. for our tempo run it would have been a disaster.  Years ago, I would have done it anyway-but with age, for me, has come wisdom.  The wisdom of knowing one’s body and how it is likely to react under physical stress and duress and averting said situations.

Despite being pretty tired at work on Thursday, things were progressing fine and I was looking forward to my run that evening.  We were supposed to have rain all day, but it never seemed to show-so I was hopeful maybe I could actually run in warm weather that didn’t involve rain. I.DON’T.THINK.SO.

At around 5:00 the tornado sirens sounded and for the next 90 or so minutes I dealt with:  the sounds of pouring rain, golf-ball sized hail, and thunder that shook the building a few times; the fact that a tornado had actually touched down in Dexter, Michigan-a neighboring town about 15 miles away; the fact that I couldn’t stop working because I had to meet the 7 p.m. Fed Ex deadline; and that my office is on the second floor of a two-story building that lies on stilts because it is in the flood plain (which means NO BASEMENT) and windows are on every side of the building and thus glass everywhere.  Fortunately, I got my proposal out the door, I survived, and the building stayed in tact.  However, this is what the parking lot looked like when I left at 7:15 p.m.

I have no idea whose car this is.

Needless to say, after working through the tornado and accompanying storms, I opted to not do the tempo run (which was a no brainer) but more importantly, decided to sleep in on Friday and do my tempo run on Friday night.

So here we are on Friday night.  I decided to run the same course that Christy and I normally run, as I thought it would be interesting to see how I did on that same hilly course in the early evening.  The experience was very different on a lot of levels:

Time of Day/University of Michigan’s North Campus
First of all, it was daylight (in the beginning); secondly, there were people around; thirdly, I could actually see the beautiful architecture; fourthly, it was warm-not 60s warm as it has been a few times when we’ve run in the morning-but 70s warm-so all I wore was a t-shirt and shorts; and fifthly, since I would be running by myself, I would listen to my iPod. I love listening to music when I run because it CAN make me run faster.  I tend to run to the beat, so if a song is fast and I love it, I run faster; if a song tends to slow down, so do I.

Things I never see when I generally drive to North Campus for my run-daylight, other cars, other people. Also, I would be screwed if we generally ran on North Campus in the evening because I am always running late and thus exceeding the speed limit by 5-15 mph; last night that was not an option. So many people on the road; and Christy P is a very prompt person!!!

So a few things struck me as I started my run on North Campus: 1) The weeping willow trees were starting to bloom and looked like beautiful green mist hanging from the branches; 2) I hoped I wouldn’t get lost because things would look different in the daylight and I always seem to just follow Christy P; 3) I had to do a lot of crossing the street to run on sidewalks-7:00 p.m. is no time to be running in the road on North Campus and finally, 4) North Campus is really beautiful.  It has an amazing collection of mid-2oth century architecture as well as some really gorgeous 21st architecture.  It also has an amazing history and collection of public art. One of the most famous pieces is a “wave field” by artist Maya Lin, who is perhaps best known for what was a very controversial Vietnam Veterans Memorial when it was installed in Washington, DC in 1982.

The Run
The tempo run was supposed to be mile one at an easy pace, miles 2-6 at a 9:14 pace, and mile 7 at easy pace.  I started out at a pace which seemed kind of slow-not surprising because it had been a long week at work and I was starting out at 7 p.m. as opposed to finishing up at 7 a.m.-but I was wrong. I looked down at my GPS and there it was staring at me-an 8:37 pace time.  What?!?!  How is this possible?!?  Is this broken?!?!  So I kept trying to slow down but no matter what I did I was on target for an 8:50-9:05 pace.  So I thought, “Well, what are ya gonna do?” So I decided, “Try and see if you can keep this pace up the whole way!”  I knew at certain points it would be more difficult than others, because there are some steep hills on this course.  But overall, I did really well.  Not really any surprises.  Well, one thing that caught me off guard-I just couldn’t believe how hard mile 6-7 was.  I was exhausted.  I think Christy P and I had this problem a few weeks ago on our tempo run-where we were keeping pace, but we just couldn’t believe how hard it was-especially since the pace time wasn’t that fast.  Man, I couldn’t wait for mile 7….SO I COULD STOP.  The course is actually about a 7.3 miler.  Christy always tends to run the whole thing, but the tempo called for 7 miles-SO THAT IS ALL I WAS GOING TO RUN.  Getting to mile 6 on this course is a pretty tough one-it’s not steep, but there is a gradual hill and I think I am generally just tired from the hills between miles 4 and 5 (which is reflected below in my pace times)!

I love that my easy run is a 9:48 pace. A year ago, that would have been a fast run for me!

Play List
Here’s what I listened to, although not in that order.  Although, as I said, music can be “dangerous” for me if I get a slower song; however, the Jackson 5, Stevie Wonder, and Helen Reddy couldn’t have come at a better time for me last night.

Aretha Franklin-The House that Jack Built
Black Eyed Peas-I Gotta Feeling
Glee Cast-Don’t Rain on My Parade
Glee Cast-Forget You
Cee Lo Green-F You
Stevie Wonder-For Once in My Life
The 5th Dimension-Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In
Free to Be You and Me-Sisters and Brothers
Hanson-Mmmbop
Jackson 5-I Want You Back
Michael Buble-Haven’t Met You Yet
Jackson 5-ABC-mile 4-5
Stevie Wonder-Isn’t she Lovely-mile 5-6
Helen Reddy-I Am Woman-mile 6-7

Taking it Easy
I felt really good after the run, but I was tired!  So I decided to do the third smart thing for me this week-NOT get up on Saturday at 6:45 a.m. to catch a spinning class at the YMCA.  As Christy P said, “Missing one workout won’t kill you.”  And, once again, she was right!

Carry on, friends!

By the end of the run, it "looked" just like my regular a.m. run. Here's the biggest difference-This is me. Solo. 8:00 p.m. No CP by my side. So sad.

One Comment Post a comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tempo Tuesday | Running on Redbull

Leave a Reply

