Skip to content

I HATE YOU – I LOVE YOU

Track workouts.  They pretty much suck.  Well, until you’re done and then it’s all lovey dovey.

Track days are Tuesdays.  Track days are days we workout after work.  I don’t like Tuesdays anymore.  Well, let me rephrase that, I don’t like Tuesday until about 8:00 p.m. by which time I am showered and drinking a nice cold beer.  Please don’t judge.  A girl has to have something to look forward to as she is running her stubs around an unforgiving track.

I thought today would be different.  It was going to be 61 degrees by 5:00 p.m.  Perfect weather for an outdoor track workout.  Yes, moving the workouts outdoors will make a huge difference.  I will fall in love with the track. I will embrace these damn track repeats like nobodies business.  Guess, what?  That didn’t happen.

You see, we’ve been running at the indoor UM track with the Ann Arbor Track Club.  We use their time on the track but we don’t follow their workouts.  Funny thing is as long as you pay them their money, they don’t care what the hell you do with your time in there (just don’t get in their way!)  I don’t particularly care for the facility.  It’s hot.  It’s smelly.  And, there are lots of really bad ass runners there.  Tonight was the perfect night NOT to pay the Ann Arbor Track Club their money and instead wander over the FREE Ann Arbor Pioneer High School Track. Because, you know, it was going to feel so much easier there – being outside and all.   Here you can see  a portion of said track and look way off in the distance you can see the big house.  I bet those UM Football players don’t like track workouts either.

Here is one of the best photos ever of me and KG.  We are looking directly into the sun as a friendly co-track workout hater takes our pic.  Look, you can see his shadow on my chest.

The workout called for a 1200,1000, 800, 600, 400, & 200 all at about an 8:00/mile pace with a 200 rest interval in between each one.  As always, it looked easy enough on paper.  Easy it was not.   I know, I know, that is the whole point.  Push yourself Perros.  Eyes on the prize……blah, blah, blah. We ended up covering 5.8 miles with our warm up and cool down included.  Our average pace was a 9:49.  Please remember that includes some running at a 7:40 pace and some walking (rest intervals) at an 11:20 pace.   The nice thing about tonight is that we got to do it on our own time which meant we got to the track earlier and finished earlier.  As we walked back to the car about the most positive thing we had to say to each other was “Well, at least we’re finished before we would have started at the UM track.”  We chatted about non-running things all the way to KG’s house.  I dropped her off and then a funny thing happened. Colbie Caillat’s “Brighter than the Sun” came on the radio.  I know, it’s a corny, song – whatev – I’m a corny Mom.  But it got me to thinking.  These lyrics are exactly how I feel about running.  I know that’s not what she meant but it struck a chord with me.

Stopped me on the corner I swear you hit me like a vision I, I, I wasn’t expecting But who am I to tell fate where it’s supposed to go with it? Don’t you blink you might miss it See we got a right to just love it or leave it You find it and keep it Cause it ain’t every day you get the chance to say

Oh, this is how it starts, lighting strikes the heart It goes off like a gun, brighter than the sun Oh, it could be the stars, falling from the sky Shining how we want, brighter than the sun.

Oh, I know, she is talking about a boy or something but for me, these lyrics speak to how running became such a huge part of my life.  Never, ever would I have expected it.  Never, ever did I think something that I used to dislike so much could become one of the loves of my life.  Track workout, long runs, tempo runs – they all have that love/hate dynamic going on for me. 

 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. heather #

    Yep, pretty much sums up how I feel about track workouts. And we always use an outdoor track, so I feel you — it’s not any better.

    March 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

