Skip to content

Day 12 of 112-Long Run-15 miles-#recipieforrecovery

Sorry for the delay in posting.  My weekend and Monday were so incredibly hectic that now at 11:06 p.m. on Monday evening, approximately 63 hours after my long run started, I am sitting down to blog about it.

A little bit of recap, on Day 11-Rest Day-I felt pretty confident that I was preparing well for the 15-mile run:  getting good sleep, eating properly, and visualizing myself successful during the long run.  And despite what turned out to be a pretty hectic day on Friday, I was able to eat well Friday night, I hydrated well during the BARRY MANILOW CONCERT, which was totally great by the way!  (Barry Manilow Sidebar-having NOTHING to do with running-even though the guy is 69 and super cheesey, he still has a beautiful voice and he does a great job of story telling during the concert.  If you are a Barry fan, you owe it to yourself to see him in concert).  If you are a Barry Fan, you might want to cover your ears when you hear my singing on top of his.  Man, I thought I was rocking it out….but the proof is in the pudding.  Pee-ew!! I won’t be blogging anytime soon about my singing!  WARNING….This is just me singing to the music.  There are no dying animals here.  It’s.just.me.

Where was I, let’s see….ate well on Friday, hydrated at the BARRY MANILOW CONCERT, and ate well on Saturday before the run.  See…..

Pictures don't lie.

Another great thing about going to a concert with an older demographic in the audience is that you get home early.  Per my prediction on Friday afternoon, I was home by 11 p.m. and snagged another great night’s sleep!  Bonus!

As far as the run went, I continue to be pretty frustrated that we are running in so much wind, because it really does make a difference!  Not only for speed, but in how your body responds.  But what are ya gonna do? I spend the first half of the run working up a sweat and then with the wind cutting through me on all those country roads during the second half-my body tightens up and my muscles just don’t work as well.  Combine that with the fact that our country roads were laden with pot holes, bumps, and lots of small rocks to navigate-and my legs weren’t very happy.  But back to the wind….When we started running the temps were something in the neighborhood of 26 degrees and although the temps were slated to rise about 7 degrees during the course of the run, the winds were also supposed to increase by about 7 mph over the course of the run.  As I’ve said before, I really struggle with being comfortable and confident about what clothes to wear when I run, and so trying to figure out what to wear when the temps are going to be cooler by the end of the run due to wind chill….I’m at a loss.  Still don’t have a good answer.  Hey, do any of you?  Any suggestions?  I would LOVE some good advice here!

The pace time for the run was supposed to be 15 miles at a 10:30 pace.  We averaged a pace of 9:54, which I was pretty gosh darned happy with!  It played out like this:

Mile 1 – 9:40
Mile 2 – 9:32
Mile 3 – 9:32
Mile 4- 9:37
Mile 5 – 10:01
Mile 6- 10:04
Mile 7 – 9:54
Mile 8 – 9:40
Mile 9- 10:05
Mile 10 – 9:44
Mile 11 – 9:55
Mile 12 – 9:51
Miles 13 -9:52
Mile 14 – 10:07
Mile 15 -10:11

I decided on these runs, which I suspect will make both Christy and Legs happy, that I am no longer going to worry about us running faster than our prescribed pace time.  If I am feeling comfortable, why not?

The bummer for me was that around mile 10 I started to develop a blister on the bottom of my foot.  I think it was because this was my first long run with my new orthotics.  Although I use Body Glide religiously on my long runs (bra line in front and back, underwear line, inner thighs, heel, bottom and top of toes), I’ve never had a blister in my arch before.  It was definitely irritating for the last 5 miles, but when you are out in the middle of the country and you are developing a blister all you can do is hope for the best!

All in all, I’d say the run was a success!  I was pleased that we ran as well as we did and I was proud of Christy for making such a concerted effort to replenish with fluids every two miles!  That is really important.  If you loose a lot of water weight when you run, you really need to drink.  And not everyone pays careful attention to that during winter running because you aren’t as thirsty, but loosing too much weight when you run isn’t healthy.  So drink up and take magic salt pills!

So, while the run was a success, I would say the HUGE thing I learned was that I actually recover better when I move around more on the day of a long run afterwards.  Generally, I just sit around the house all day and moan and groan each time I go from a position of rest to a position of movement.  But on this day, within 30 minutes after the run I was off:
My day from 11:00 a.m. Saturday-2 a.m. Sunday

1) Running errands
2) Buying lunch
3) Eating lunch and resting for about only two hours
4) Showering
5) Going to pick up my race packet for Sunday’s Shamrocks and Shenanigans Race
6) Going out to dinner
7) Going shopping for post Shamrock and Shenanigans post-race party
8) Cleaning my house
9) Decorating my house

I was in rough shape from about 11 a.m. until 3:00 (at one point I sat in my car in a parking lot and struggled trying to figure out the best way to get from Party City USA to Bruegger’s Bagels.  Honestly, I shouldn’t have been operating a motor vehicle at that point).  But my 4 p.m., I felt rested and my legs felt great.

You can't argue with mathematics.

Who would have known at that point, after running 15 miles and staying up until 2 a.m., that I would have done such a great job running the next day at Shamrocks. Not me!

Lessons Learned:

1) Good food, sleep, and hydration will go a long way in helping your body PREPARE for a long run.

2) Less rest and more activity will go a long way in helping your body RECOVER from a long run.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Christy Perros #

    By George, I do believe you are onto something! Movement post long-run is key for me too. You are obviously taking training very seriously (hydrating, eating well, etc.) which I think is also contributing to your great success. Can’t believe we already have 2 weeks under our belt! Looking forward to the track tonight ; )

    March 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

