Skip to content

MONDAY MOANIN’

Good Morning!

My alarm went off at 5:00 this morning just like every week day morning.  Most mornings I don’t mind at all; this morning was different. Yesterday, after the half-mary training run I came home and did some laundry, cleaned a bathroom, mopped the kitchen floor (oh, and watched a few basketball games – Yay, U of M!  Thanks so much OSU!!!)  Anyway, I didn’t rest much post-run. Then, during the night I developed a super sore throat.  Of course, I was sure I had strep (my daughter just got over having it) and I was sure this was going to be the thing that got me off my training track.  So early in the training schedule too – damn I was pissed.  I let it bother me enough that I slept very restlessly most of the night.  But, 5:00 came and out of bed I crawled – sore legs, sore throat and all.  Mondays I typically do a little walk with my Mom around the track and then do a leg workout.  There are a few flights of stairs to get up to said track and this morning those bad boys kicked my butt.

They look innocent enough don't they?

My mom didn’t actually make it to the Y this  morning because the roads were a little slick.  As you can see the track at the Y is pretty but it’s also a lonely place at 5:30 a.m.  I figured my legs would appreciate a quick walk for about 10 minutes before diving into my leg work out.  They agreed and felt a little more loose after my short walk.

Sparkley, clean, lonely track

I spent the next 1/2 hour doing my little sequence of lunges, leg presses, hamstring curls, dead lifts, etc. and I wrapped up with a few 1 minute planks (yes, I’m a plank wimp and can’t do many nor can I hold them for long!) a little stretching and was back out the door by 6:30.

Have a good Monday everyone!

 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Way to go!!! That is what Monday is for!! Nice and easy and some good stretching. No need to push anything! Has your sore throat departed??? The good thing is you don’t have to work out until 7:00 tomorrow-plenty of time to heal!

    March 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

