Skip to content

Day 8 of 112-XT or rest-#haven’tentirelymadeupmymindyet

Good afternoon!

Today’s game “plan” was an early morning stretching/strengthening routine, which I would do in the privacy of my dingey, cold, and dark basement with my husband.

Last night, around 5:00 p.m., when I was just starting to recover from a sheer exhaustion perspective from the half-mary run, I decided I didn’t have the energy to work on a work-related project.  At that point, the game “plan” shifted to getting up early, going into work early to work on my project, and working out this evening in the privacy of my dingey, cold, and dark basement with my husband.

The alarm went off at 5:45 a.m., then 5:52: a.m, then 5:59 a.m., then 6:06 a.m, then 6:13 a.m., and then finally 6:20 a.m.  At this point I was NOT going to make it to work at 6:30 a.m. 

Now prior to last week, at 6:30 a.m. on a Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday, I am 5 miles into a 6-7 mile run or about 1,000 yards into a 1,200 yard lap swim.  So you might think getting up at 5:45 a.m. to NOT work out wouldn’t be a problem, but man was I exhausted!!!  Yesterday’s half-mary took it out of me.  And I have to be honest here…..although I feel I am a much better runner than I was a few years ago when I trained for my last marathon, I am also a slightly older runner and I think that is factoring into things.  When I used to do a long run, I was pretty tired for a few hours, but now…..I am exhausted for up to 5-6 hours!  Clean my house? Run errands? NOT after a long run like that.  I shower, get into comfortable clothes, act incredibly pathetic in order for my husband to get me lunch, lie on the couch, and fall asleep.  And like I said, about 7 hours post run, I’m slightly more ready to go.

And yet, as soon as I got out of bed at 6:30 a.m., I was bummed out that I didn’t have a work out to go to or that I just hadn’t finished one.  I am incredibly productive at my house in the a.m. post workout; if I hustle, I can get in laundry, cleaning, bed making, a quick review of finances, shower, making my lunch, and eating a breakfast.  Today, all I had the energy to do was shower, iron, throw some items in a bag for lunch, and go to work, which also included a stop at BP for a Mtn. Dew fountain drink and a bagel.

I’m beginning to think more and more like Christy P.  I’m not looking forward to a post-work work out tonight, especially one in my dingey, cold, and dark basement.  AND….to add insult to injury, tomorrow’s track workout isn’t until 7:00 p.m. at night.  AGAIN, tomorrow….I don’t get to get up early to work out!!  I was actually thinking this morning how excited I am for Wednesday because I get to get up early on that day and head to the pool!

So what’s the point of all this?  I’m not really sure except to say:

1) It takes me longer and longer to recover on the day of my long runs the older I get.

2) Although I was too tired to get out of bed early to go to work today, I would have been happy to get out of bed early to go work out.

3) Who is this person I’m becoming?  Not sure, but I really kind of dig her!

4) Not sure if I’ll work out tonight or not. Afterall, it is a cross train OR rest day.  Maybe I’ll just start next week. #haven’tentirelymademymindupyet

And finally, I just wanted to say “Thanks,” to all the family and friends last week who were supportive and encouraging to Christy and I about the blog and who responded positively to my mass email entitled “Shameless self promotion-new marathon training running blog that I am co-authoring!”

THANKS for your support and encouraging words!

Brian Townsend, Christy Perros, Mike Kirk, Jay Zelenock, Paul Fontaine, Janet Kreger, Hans Schwab, Amber Arellano, Beth Curran, Sharon Stachecki, Darcy Knoll, Susan Kim, Carl Roehling, Steve Hahn, Vanessa Cornell, Stephanie Hertzberg, David Lantz, Doug Bernardin, Barb Rigney, Ronelle Prickette, Jordan Frantz, Heather Edwards, Chris Lawrence, Christine Broshar, Connie Schaffner, Katie O’Brien, Bridget O’Smith, Erin Snyder, Mandy Unruh, Lisa Vogel, Annri Doi Vroom, Anne Frendrich Stevens, Sarah Broshar, Jeff Genova, Emily Ehrlich, Lynne and Dan Mixer, and everyone else who went to the site to check it out!  You guys and gals are the best!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Chris L. #

    Kristi, I am honored to be on your thank you list….and happy to know that it’s not just me who is taking longer to recover from workouts as the days go by. I won’t stop working out though. I feel better and better with every passing day.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Chris

    March 6, 2012
  2. Christy Perros #

    KG, are you sure their isn’t an indoor track that opens @5:30 a.m. so that we could get our speed workouts done before work??? Grrr. I would love to have this done by 7:00 a.m. rather than 8:00 p.m. Whine, whine, whine.

    March 6, 2012

Leave a Reply

