Skip to content

Training Day 6 of 112-Rest Day-#bringmethe13miles

Today was a rest day.  Christy and I have brilliantly planned our rest days to be the day before our long runs (two words; no make that three words-sheer, utter, genius).

Not unlike Christy, it used to be hard for me to “rest” on rest days-but 20 years of long-distance running and a 43 year-old-body have taught me that not unlike the mantra, “No means no” — “Rest means rest.”

Now, the key to this is to be able to really know what rest is.  While rest clearly indicates NO type of cardio or exercise strain of any kind, here are a list of things that rest also does NOT include:

1) Getting up at the crack of dawn.

2) Doing a lot of laundry.

3) Cleaning your house.

4) Being on your feet.

5) Going grocery shopping.

Get the gist…rest really does mean rest.  This is a perfect excuse for long-distance runners to not have to do anything the day before the long run!  You have your out-it’s a rest day!

So I’m going to take a rest from even blogging and wrap this up by saying what I think rest day should be about:

1) Taking it easy.

2) Thinking about and successfully visualizing the long run.  

3) Telling yourself over and over again that “Tomorrow’s run is going to be a really good one.” Today, by 10:15 a.m., I had said that to myself at least four times.  When it popped into my head, I went with it. Because, and I sadly know this in the “bad” way from experience, whether you think you can or you can’t, either way you are right.  In training for my last marathon, I had the worst 20-miler of my life.  It was a bad run in every way and instead of being able to focus on anything good about that run, all I could think of were the bad things-and believe me I had a long list.  From that moment on in my training, I had doubt I could accomplish my marathon goal, and guess what…I was right.  And I will be right about tomorrow’s good run because I’ve seen it and I believe it. #bringmethe13miles

On a semi, not altogether specific-note, and in the spirit of R&R and humor, I offer the following:

Thank you, Nike. How well you know me.

E-card sent to me by one fab-u-lous Christy P yesterday. She so gets me! And...she's totally right!

HILARIOUS note I found on a website about "the worst notes ever left to roommates."

My cat playing with the dinosaur toy found on my worst 20-miler ever. Hoping that she crushes it and gets the bad juju out of my house (Good thing I've let that go, eh?).

 

 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Christy Perros #

    I like your definition of rest but you could have told me yesterday morning at 8:00 a.m. that I wasn’t allowed to go grocery shopping! AND since I couldn’t clean the house yesterday due to the rest-rules that leaves me doing it today AFTER running a half-Mary. Gee thanks.
    Seriously, looking forward to knocking out 13 with you in an hour.

    March 4, 2012
    • OMG! You just gave me the hashtag title to today’s story, and you didn’t even know it! Ha! And yes, knowing you as I know you, I should have realized your idea of “rest” isn’t a really good definition of rest and I should have let you know that grocery shopping at 8 a.m. is off limits-as was cleaning the house-glad you followed suit there!

      March 4, 2012
  2. heather #

    Get the bad dino, Soho!

    March 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

