Skip to content

RESPECT THE BIKE

Yessir, today was a spinning day.  Or should I say this evening was a spinning evening?  I simply hate working out after work.  It’s just not in my DNA.  I go through the same very predictable phases every single time I have to do a workout post 5 p.m.  In the morning I’m all  “Yeah, I can do this.  Working out after work isn’t so bad.  I’m gonna feel so great after it’s over.”  Then it hits 1:00 p.m. and I’m starting to fade fast.  Thoughts go something like this:  “Oh man, I really wish I didn’t have to workout after work tonight.  Why can’t there be a spinning class that fits my schedule Friday morning at 6:00 a.m.,  Oh I think I’ve got heartburn, this workout is really going to suck.  Maybe I can go to a class Saturday morning.”  And then, I put my big girl pants on, drive to the Bodies in Balance, spin my little heart out, and feel great for having done so.  You would think I could recall this sequence of events each week and spare myself the afternoon drama but, no, that hasn’t happened yet.  It really was a good class.  Even better I got to see Alex Milshteyn and my neighbor G. Thomas.  Oh yeah and guess what?  This girl was there:

I know, shocker.  We don’t get to spend much time together.  We should really do something about that.  Oh, what’s that KG?  You’d like to run 13 miles with me on Sunday?  Ok, great.  See you at your house at 7:30 Sunday morning.  You know what that means friends…. I get to carb load tomorrow.  Yum!

So now, you tell me.  What do you dread every time you have to do it but end up feeling great after??

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. 1) I am soooo up for running 13 miles with you on Sunday.
    2) Unlike like week, I will hydrate with water on Saturday evening instead of wine (I’m going with it was a religious-type communion thing and that is why I had to drink the wind)
    3) OMG! My heart-burn was outrageous at spinning tonight!
    4) Most excellent indeed is your “carb” graphic!
    5) What I dread every time but feel great about it after is…..getting up at at 4:45 a.m. in run.

    March 3, 2012
  2. Chris L. #

    Love reading your blog! you are both such an inspiration to me. Thanks for sharing! : )

    March 3, 2012
  3. Chris,

    I am going to be so brazen as to speak for both of us….we LOVE that you love reading the blog. But what we love even more is that it is inspirational to you! That is what this is all about! Training for a marathon is certainly a journey, and as I embark on this journey, yet again, I find that each one is different than the previous and I look all around for other sources of inspiration-because you really need it. Whether you are starting to run, or training for any kind of race, or honestly…just living your life-inspiration plays an important role. So I am thrilled you are being inspired and just so you know….people like you are who starting out on their running journey-inspire me! Because I know how hard it is to get started. You’re on the right track, sista!

    Cheers,
    Kristi

    March 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

