Skip to content

RUNNING SLOW IS HARD

Big Garmin on small person

 
Today we kicked off week one of training with our first official tempo run.  Looked easy enough to me:  Run easy 2 miles (10:19), Fast tempo 2 miles (8:44), Run easy 2 miles  (10:19).  We knock out 7.25 miles on this particular route weekly and our average pace usually hovers around 9:15s.  So, umm, yeah, no problem, right?  About half way through the run, I came to the conclusion that training is most definitely very different from running.  Training actually makes you think quite a bit.  When I run, I just listen to my body, if I feel like going faster I do, if I feel like slowing down I do that too.  Having to follow a prescribed pace makes for a very different run.  So here’s how we did:
 
Mile 1 – 9:46 (not too far off)
Mile 2 – 9:02 (ladies…that’s more than 1 minute faster than you are supposed to be running)
Mile 3 – 8:34 (not too far off)
Mile 4 – 8:34 (not too far off and very impressive that the tempo splits were dead even)
Mile 5 -9:45
Mile 6 – 9:54 (making a huge effort to slow down during this mile)
Average Pace: 9:16 (well, well, well, just like any other typical Thursday….)
 
I’ve gotta say, mile 5 was the hardest by far.  I knew I needed to slow down and my legs were fatigued enough from miles 3 and 4 that I kinda sorta wanted to walk.  Mile 4 is also basically up hill the whole way.  Going from relatively hard effort to active recovery is apparently an art form of which I have not yet mastered.  Alas, I did not walk. 
 
If you scroll down a bit you can read Kristi G’s post all about Gumby.  She writes about how I was her gumby in the pool yesterday morning.  Well, she was my gumby from behind this morning.  She kept having to remind me to slow down.  I needed a leash this morning – she could have yanked me back to proper pace.  You see running slow is hard for so many reasons:
 
1. As stated earlier the more I slow down the more I want to walk (yeah, there’s no walking in tempo training)
2. The slower you go, the longer it takes to get to your final destination (and that’s counterintuitive – at 6:45 in the morning, I just want to be done with my run and on my way to getting ready for work.)
3. Talking tends to speed me up (the slower I go the easier it is to talk but the more I talk the faster I go – vicious cycle)
 
Another lesson learned this week with 3 days of training under my belt.  I am training.  I am training for one particular performance: The Ann Arbor Marathon.  Each day of training is for that performance and it is all a process.  I need to get my mind in the game for each and every training session and have fun with it.
 
In in a final, unrelated note, did any one else in the Ann Arbor area have to drive through a mini blizzard to get to work this morning???
 
 
 
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. When is the marathon? Maybe I’ll be there to cheer you on! Great post. Do you still go to the gym? I think I go maybe three times a year…still workout daily, tho!

    March 1, 2012
    • Christy P #

      Hey, thanks, Mandy! The marathon is June 17, 2012. Just 16 short weeks away! Would love to see you and meet Ian : )
      I do still go to the gym. I belong to the Y and I use it to lift weights, swim, and I walk a slow mile with my Mom 3 days a week.
      Great to hear from you.

      March 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

