Skip to content

Swimming Long at the Y

Ok, so everything is relative.  My long swim was 2000 yards.  My son, who is a real swimmer, would categorize that distance as a warm up.  Let’s back up to last night – post track workout.  When I got home my husband was just putting the finishing touches on homemade pizza.  He chose great toppings! (sun dried tomatoes, artichoke hearts, greek olives, feta cheese, crushed garlic, and a little basil)  I was super hungry and it was delicious going down.  As I checked Facebook, other blogs and my email after dinner, I started to regret that I wolfed down two slices.  I don’t get heart burn very often but man did it hit me.  A few Tums seemed to help and I realized I was absolutely exhausted.  Time to hit the hay.  I knew as soon as I laid down that it was going to be a long night.  I was physically exhausted but still had the adrenaline pumping from the workout and my legs were tired and sore.  So, when the alarm went off at 5:00 a.m. to head to the pool I was less than thrilled.  But, I got my tired, sore, unmotivated butt up and out the door. The swim was pretty darn good.  We decided to do our normal 1200 yards but to take them more seriously.  We turned what was typically a 40 minute workout into 30 minutes and added 800 yards of kicking at the end.  All in all I think the whole workout was 45 minutes.  My ankles were pretty sore by the end but I know the rest of my body really appreciated the lack of pounding a swim workout provides.  Meant to take a pic of Kristi and me at the pool but forgot too.  I will next week but in the meantime just picture two very tired women in matchy matchy speedos.  Yep!  We have the same suit.  We’re dorky like that.  Have a great day everyone!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Everyone loves a dork (s)!

    February 29, 2012
  2. Emily Ehrlich #

    You guys crack me up!

    February 29, 2012
    • cperros #

      Good. That’s part of our goal!

      February 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

